REVIEW: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

Title: Mockingjay
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publisher: Scholastic
Release Date: 25th August 2010
Pages: 455
Read it in: a few days
Source: WH Smiths

You can buy it on amazon. 
 
Synopsis: (Goodreads) :

Young Katniss Everdeen has survived the dreaded Hunger Games not once, but twice, but even now she can find no relief. In fact, the dangers seem to be escalating: President Snow has declared an all-out war on Katniss, her family, her friends, and all the oppressed people of District 12. The thrill-packed final installment of Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy will keep young hearts pounding.

Review:

This story kept me on edge the whole time through, again, with some cruel plot twists. My feelings towards Peeta grew immensely in this book because of all the crap he has to go through. Peeta and Gale again… No I’m still all for Peeta. My friend at school and I had a debate over who Katniss should have gotten with. I loved the importance of the mockingjay in this book, it was great to see how important a pin has became! I felt sorry for Katniss because she didn’t want to be the leader everyone wanted her to be, but she did an amazing job of it.

**SPOILER!!!!!!**
Peeta being poisoned, and convinced he had to kill Katniss made me cry, honestly. I thought it was so touching, and cruel. However the whole ‘real or not real’ thing was cute, and I adored it. I love the whole ‘You love me, real or not real? Real’ thing on the final page of the book. A band called ALL CAPS wrote a song called Real or Not Real, and it’s amazing, I suggest checking it out!!! (Link Here)
**NO MORE SPOILER**

I think Suzanne ended the books in a most brilliant way. Some people don’t think she should have ended it the way she did, but I love it. One of my friends only thinks that because of who she ends with. I’m so happy that a lot of people at my school have now decided to read The Hunger Games books because they’re amazing and they get so many conversations started!
Overall view of the series? Amazing, loved them. Like I said before, The Hunger Games trilogy is my second favourite series. But The Hunger Games and Mockingjay are my favourite in the series. Love them!

Rating: 5/5
Leave a Reply

