MKB: REVIEW: Evermore by Alyson Noël

Title: Evermore (The Immortals #1 )
Author: Alyson Noël
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Release Date: 3rd February 2009

Pages: 306
Read it in: 3 Days

Source: Publisher


You can buy it on amazon. 



Synopsis: (Goodreads) :


Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people’s thoughts, and know a person’s life story by touch. Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste…


Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition. He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets. Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she’s thinking—and he’s the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head. She doesn’t know who he really is—or what he is. Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies.


Review:


Due to crappy amounts of school work it took me three days to finish Evermore, but i’m finally caught up on all the work so when I move on to Blue Moon I’ll finish quicker hopefully 😀


Anyway! I absolutely loved this book. I’d never heard about these series before, apart from the occasional time when some of the other VIPs mentioned it but that was it. So I took it to school yesterday so I could read it during my free’s and such (yes, instead of doing work) and soon found three of my friends had read Evermore as well. One problem. All three hated it. When they read it they kept finding similarities between it and Twilight (which at the start I could understand! But after reading the whole book, I think they’re stupid). So it’s safe to say I didn’t have high hopes for the series. They all claimed they could predict the entire book once they’d read half of it, and that’s usually my job yet Alyson kept me thinking and switching idea’s about the plot and characters the whole way through!


I was never too sure on my opinion of Damen, some times I liked him and others I hated him as much as Ever was claiming. I 100% loved Riley and just like Alyson, i’d love to meet Riley in real life. Ever I adore, I think she is so strong, apart from when she loses it obviously, but to have been through what she’d been through, and then to go through what Damen and Drina was collectively putting her through was very strong and brave! I’d have given up ages ago!
I want to know, am I the only person who every time an aura was mentioned flicked to the front of the book to see what that aura meant? I found myself doing that throughout the whole book, so the chart was a nice added extra! It made me wonder about what colours the auras of the people around me would be on a daily basis.


Excited to read the next in the series? Yes. 100% I am going to pick it up and start reading AS SOON as i’ve posted this review.


Rating: 5/5 – It was never slow, it was jam packed of all the things I love, and it was amazingly written. Go read it.

Leave a Reply

