MKB: Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Title: Starcrossed (Starcrossed #1)
Author: Josephine Angelini
Publisher: PanMacmillan
Release Date: 3rd June 2011
Pages: 514
Read it in: 1 week (an hour or so every evening)

Source: Publisher


You can buy it on amazon. 
 
Synopsis: Goodreads:

How do you defy destiny?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is—no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood . . . and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together—and trying to tear them apart.

Review:

Oh… My… God. I do not know where to begin with this review. After finishing the book moments ago I am just amazed by everything that has been revealed in the last few chapters. Starcrossed is definitely one the most gripping books i’ve ever read. Though I never wanted to put it down, I had to every night because there were so many questions created in my mind, and I was thinking of how the plot was going to develop that I knew reading on was just going to confuse me – So i gave myself time to think. Boy am I glad I did that!

When I receive these books from the girls at MKB I always tuck into it immediately. Some are harder to get on with than others, but Starcrossed was one that attracted me immediately. Everything from the cover, to the tag lines, to the writing, to the characters were making the book all the more attractive.
So, let’s talk about the book. Lucas and Helen were two characters who had the whole ‘forbidden’ relationship thing going on between them, so many different events took place that some times tore them apart, and some times through them together. It is impossible, for me at this current moment to decide whether or not these two are going to be allowed their happy ending.

Ever since I put the book down, i’ve been ‘geeking’ over it with Jenny and Iffath questioning everything that happened in the book. Trying to figure out exactly what it is that is TRUE and what is false, and is a cover up. We have our many theories, and some match and some don’t. However the only person who really knows what’s going on is Josephine Angelini.We know her book is part of a trilogy, so we know that all the answers are not going to be revealed to us in the next book, whenever that i released, so we know we’re going to be frustrated for a little longer but it’s totally worth it.

A book that can make you question everything you thought you knew about it, and question every possible plot ending you can think of is a great book. Starcrossed has got me questioning all the plot twists, and wanting to know what happens with Hector and Jason and Claire, and of course with Helen and Lucas.

I haven’t yet picked a favourite character as I think it’s next to impossible. I adore Lucas, I adore Hector, I adore Jason. Those three are definitely three boys I wouldn’t mind knowing. Lucas and Helen’s relationship is one I want to know what happens – so many twists have been introduced to their relationship, like I said it is damn near impossible to decide whether or not they’re going to get their happy ever after. Jason and Clarie’s relationship was not a shock to me, I mean they were always arguing! Hector, awh, I love this boy. I can’t find any fault in Hector.

I would suggest this book to anyone who likes romance, but wants a book where the guy and the girl don’t get what they want. I mean, this book is FULL of romance, but nothing is ever done about it! Because it just simply can’t happen! The action scenes are slightly rushed I think, but they are there, and they are just as amazing as the intense sexual tension we experience between Helen and Lucas.
One of my favourite quote from the book is: “You I would forgive. But the guy? Dead man.” Mostly because it took away a lot of the tension in that chapter/scene whatever. But there are so many moments in this book that made me laugh, and I definitely enjoyed it. It had earned a space on my book shelf!!

Rating: 5/5 – How could I not give it such an amazing rating?! I give books 5’s way too easily!
Leave a Reply

