Review: Beastly by Alex Flinn

Title: Beastly
Author: Alex Finn
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: 1st October 2007

Pages: 304
Read it in: 3 Days
Source: Beth

You can buy it on amazon.
 
Synopsis: Goodreads:


I am a beast.
A beast!
Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright. I am a monster.
You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll, stay this way forever ruined unless I can break the spell.
Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly…beastly.

Review:

My friend was reading Beastly and told me it was a book she believed I’d really enjoy. And she was right! I always loved the Beauty and the Beast tale, the Disney animated version always held a very special place in my heart. Now old Disney stories are often adapted to suit the modern day society, but I’ve only come across this in films. I hadn’t, before Beastly, actually read a book that was a modern adaptation of a fairy tale or an old Disney animation movie… Beastly was a first.

I can’t remember what my original thought on the idea of Beastly, but I remember not having high hopes for the book. I still haven’t seen the movie, and plan on watching it with friends. However I did enjoy the book, I have a few problems with it but not enough for me to give the book a bad rating – not quite a 5 but not a bad rating.

Kyle / Adrian is the Beast and Lindy / Linda is Belle. I love Lindy, I thought she was amazing and she did practically everything I’d do in her situation. The modern adaptation is pretty much Belle with a name change, they are practically identical, but that doesn’t make the story worse or better – just shows that Flinn was sticking to the original Disney Animated Story – mostly. I know a few Kyle’s, and I do not like them one bit, and it is safe to say I didn’t like Kyle either. Adrian however, I did like. And I liked Kyle just before he changed his name as well.

I thought the web chats were clever! I really enjoyed reading the internet chat room chats between Mr Anderson, BeastNYC and all the others. I can’t tell you WHY I liked this so much, perhaps because it was different? I don’t know, but I thought they were clever.

My favourite character was Will, definitely. I loved will because he was the sensible one, and the teacher and blind, yet 100% amazing at the same time. Kendra chose well. You’ll know who Kendra is when you open the book. Will is the, like i said, sensible one in the book and the one that i’d like to actually be around. He’s kind of like the uncle many people wish they had – i’m actually comparing him to Cinna from the Hunger Games xD

The modern version of Beauty and the Beast was brilliant in my opinion. I didn’t like the start – not the chat room, the events at school went a little slow for my liking..I really liked the significance of the Roses in this book, it was different to the Disney version, but I loved it none the less.

That’s all I have to say on Beastly. Read it BEFORE you see the movie. The Movie is hardly ever as good as the book!

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

