Review: Marked by P.C and Kristin Cast

Title: Marked (The House of Night Series #1)
Author: P.C and Kristin Cast
Publisher: Atom
Release Date: May 1st 2007
Pages: 306
Read it in: 4 Days – due to lack of time to sit and read!

Source: Waterstones

You can buy it on amazon.



Synopsis: Goodreads:



The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird’s world, vampyres have always existed. In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire–that is, if she makes it through the Change. Not all of those who are chosen do. It’s tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling. She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx. But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers. When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny–with a little help from her new vampyre friends.



My Review:



I’m sure I’ve made this clear, plenty of times before, but I love this series. I will guranteed re-read this series every school holiday – Easter, Half Terms, Summer Holiday’s, October Break, Christmas Break – and love it every time. I just can’t get bored of this series. The House Of Night Series written by P.C and Kristin Cast is a series of a contracted 12 books not including the Novella’s that the authors choose to write along the way. Marked is book 1 in this series that I grew to love quite quickly.



I picked this book up completely on a whim, I saw it, thought it looked cool and bought it. It was definitely one of the best things I did. I’ve re-read this book more times that I care to admit, and I love it every time I re-read it. It just doesn’t get old for me. This is however the first time I’ve come to review this book.



Zoey Redbird is our main character in this series and is a very special fledgling. She is blesssed by the Goddess Nyx early on in our story, and that blessing is evident in everything Zoey does, due to her mark that just keeps improving despite the fact she has only been a fledgling (in this book) for a few days. Zoey, along side her almost-ex-boyfriend Heath and her ex-bestfriend Kayla are the three we meet at the start of the book, though Zoey doesn’t remain human for long, and therefore we are quickly transported to Zoey’s home where we meet her mother and her step-father. I don’t have much to say on these two characters as my emotions for them are pretty strong.



Zoey’s circle consists of Erin Bates, Shaunee Cole, Stevie Rae Johnson and Damien Maslin. All are great friends to Zoey. I love them all in their own ways, and I adore Damien. Damien is gay, so I automatically loved him (since I adore all my gay friends, I get on with gay characters in books quite easily) but he was so sweet and kind. He’d gone through some shit when he started at the House of Night with a previous roommate, but Damien didn’t let it get to him, which I love. The girls are brilliant. Erin and Shaunee are like two pea’s in a pod, and whenever they talk I laugh out loud, forgetting the fact that I am reading a book. They’re great. And Stevie Rae Johnson is a best friend I would love to have. I love my two best friends to bits and wouldn’t change them. But having a Stevie Rae in my life would be awesome!



Erik Night! Now what can I say about this boy? I’m going to give my opinion of him from this book alone (remembering i’ve read up to Awakened). In Marked, I love him. I thought he was brilliant to Zoey and I had a bit of a fictional crush on him. Looking back on it, I can see why. But I do distinctly remember wishing Zoey and Erik would just hurry up and get together, and I felt the same way when reading Marked again, despite knowing how Erik’s character develops.



Aphrodite! I’m going to be honest here and say she is one of my favourite characters of this series. I seem to love all the bad people in this series! Well, most. But yeah. I don’t know what it is about Aphrodite in this book that I like so much, I just have a thing for the bad characters.

As for what happened in the book, I don’t know. I mean, I did feel as though it started off slow. But Marked does set a good starter for the rest of the book. I do love it, and would recommend it to anyone who loves vampyres (not vampires ;D) with a twist.



Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

