The Time Will Come (#1)

The Time Will Come is a weekly meme hosted by Jodie at Books For Company where we can spotlight those books that we’ve had sitting on our shelves for too long. Books that we really want to read and never seem to get around to.


This is Looking For Alaska by John Green. I was sent this book as part of a Secret Santa project I had going on with those over seas. One of the girls decided to send me this book. Unfortunately, she sent it at a time when I already had LOADS of books to read. And as much as I love John Green, this book unfortunately always fall’s to the bottom of the list whenever I want to read a book, since I always have a book to review, or a book i’ve borrowed from a friend and have to read quickly otherwise she’ll get mad at me or something.
Either way, I never seem to get round to this book, and it’s annoying since I love the author. I just preordered The Fault In Our Stars (well, on the first day of it’s release) and I’m determined to have read all of John Green’s books by then. I’ve already read Will Grayson Will Grayson, and i’ve read Zombicorns so that leaves me with Looking For Alaska, Paper Towns, and An Abundance of Katherine’s. Wish me luck!

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Miles Halter is fascinated by famous last words and tired of his safe life at home. He leaves for boarding school to seek what the dying poet Francois Rabelais called the “Great Perhaps.” Much awaits Miles at Culver Creek, including Alaska Young. Clever, funny, screwed-up, and dead sexy, Alaska will pull Miles into her labyrinth and catapult him into the Great Perhaps.


Looking for Alaska brilliantly chronicles the indelible impact one life can have on another. A stunning debut, it marks John Green’s arrival as an important new voice in contemporary fiction.
2 thoughts on “The Time Will Come (#1)

  1. Alicia says:

    Ooh I have this on order at my library, but I'm still 4 in the queue so it'll be a while 'til I get it yet 😦 I've never read anything by Green beforehand, but I love the sound of Looking for Alaska & have heard a lot of good things.
    I hope you get round to reading it soon 🙂

  2. TylerRosexD says:

    I've been waiting to read Green's books for so long! But others just keep getting in the way (not complaining! I love getting books xD) but yeah, it does become a problem. But before I receive tfios I'd like to have read all his books… Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

