Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Title: Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1)
Author: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
Release Date: December 1st 2009
Pages: 563/592 (depends on the copy!)
Read it in: 3 Days
Source: Library


You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:



Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.


Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.


In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

My Review:



Ah! I loved this book so much! I thought it was really good and really clever. I thought the whole forbidden love thing had been done way too much, and I figured by now I’d be bored of it. Eh, I guess I’m just a sucker for forbidden love because I loved it. The story was interesting, clever, funny, entertaining, and just all round awesome


I loved Ethan Wate. I thought he was interesting. I wish I had a better way of explaining why I liked characters. However, the way Ethan gave everything up to try and convince this girl to be his friend and eventually his girlfriend after not really having much to go on a part from a dream he’d been having over and over again and the connection he felt with her, was amazing. He literately gave up everything. Popularity, his
relationship with his family and friends…


Link was awesome as well. I mean he wasn’t 100% supportive, but he was more supportive than most of the town. He drove Ethan and Lena to school, hiding when things got too much, and was just a great friend to them both! Even after all the crap with Ridley.


Lena Duchannes herself, the Caster, the Natural, awh. I love her. She doesn’t care about what the ‘Guardian Angels’ think about her at first, she just really wants to have a year at the school and not allow them to chase her away. Things are tough for Lena, and that is expected due to the life she leads. She lives with her Uncle who is known as Old Man Ravenwood so it isn’t that much of a shock when no one accepts Lena, or her relationship with Ethan.


I really do suggest giving this book ago. I loved it, and I really cannot wait to read Beautiful Darkness!


Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

