Cover Wars (#4)

I’d like to give credit where it is due here, but I don’t know who started Cover Wars. So if anyone does know, leave a link to their blog down below!


But, basically each week (on a friday) I’ll be looking at the cover’s of a US version of a book and a UK version of the book (unless I like the version from somewhere else, then i’ll include that one too).
Remember, when referring to left or right, i mean as you look at the screen!

Since I almost decided to reread Starcrossed again next week (only decided against it due to the size of my TBR list) I figured I’d do the Cover Wars on it this week!


Now I love the UK version (the one on the right) because it shows both Helen and Lucas and I really like that. However the US version is beautiful I think… You cannot deny how beautiful it is, but it does only show a girl, and even then it doesn’t really show much on her, the emphasis seems to be on her dress (tunic I think though?). Now I do understand the reason behind the cover for the US version, and apart from heat, passion, thunder, gods, heavens (yes, that’s a lot) I can’t think of a reason for the UK cover. But I think I’d be tempted to pick up the UK version over the US version.

I think the UK version wins.

Since Dark Inside was September’s book of the month, I figured I’d also do that one this Friday! So here we go!


I am TORN with these covers! I mean, they both have the same kind of focus, the earthquake, however the US version (one on the left) is more earthly and focus’ on the baggers really and one pair of eyes (possibly the Nothing’s eyes?), whereas the UK version focus’ on the four teenagers from whom the story is told…  I really liked the boldness of the read 4 on the UK version, it’s white and black with this bold red 4… It really stood out… However I really like the realism of the US cover. When I decided to do the Dark Inside book, I hadn’t seen the US version so I thought it would be easy, but i’m actually really torn. 

I think it might be a draw with Dark Inside…

Which cover do you prefer for Starcrossed? And which cover do you prefer for Dark Inside? Leave a comment below and I’ll get back to you!

2 thoughts on “Cover Wars (#4)

  1. Kate says:

    For Starcrossed I prefer the UK cover because the US one seems to be the same as every other YA cover these days :-/

    I` just finished reading Dark Inside! I have the UK cover, but I much prefer the US. I'm surprised I actually picked up the UK one in the shops because it looks very boyish and I usually avoid those books

  2. TylerRosexD says:

    @Katie

    I know what you mean about Starcrossed, many YA covers seem to be very similar these days! But it doesn't change the fact it is beautiful.

    As for Dark Inside, like I said in the tweet, I agree with you. However I still don't know which one I prefer

Leave a Reply

