Review: Passion by Lauren Kate

Title: Passion (Fallen #3)
Author: Lauren Kate

Publisher: Corgi / Doubleday

Release date: June 14th 2011
Pages: 420
Read it in: 3 days (11th/13th/16th)
Source: Present, Andy


You can buy it on amazon.


Synopsis: Goodreads:


“Every single lifetime, I’ll choose you. Just as you have always chosen me. Forever”

Before Luce and Daniel met at Sword & Cross, before they fought the Immortals, they had already lived many lives. And so Luce, desperate to unlock the curse that condemns their love, must revisit her past incarnations in order to understand her fate. Each century, each life, holds a different clue.

But Daniel is chasing her throughout the centuries before she has a chance to rewrite history.

How many deaths can one true love endure?


And can Luce and Daniel unlock their past in order to change their future? 

My Review:


I have to say that I love my boyfriend for buying Passion for me. I really enjoyed it. I understand a lot of people aren’t a fan of Passion because they feel as though it was just a book to put in between Torment and Rapture, but I personally loved it. I enjoyed finding out about all of Luce’s previous lives. I liked Layla’s life (Egypt for the win!) the most, but I enjoyed them all (apart from the Mayan one… though what happened was certainly interesting!).


Lauren Kate’s writing is so easy to get on with that I was distraught when I had to stop reading due to needing glasses. I’d pick the book up a few times to read a couple of pages, but then stopped. So when I finally got my glasses on the 13th I read SO MUCH! I couldn’t help it! I was desperate to find out more. 


I would have loved to have heard more from Miles and Shelby, but to face the fact this was about Luce and her past lives – throwing in a little bit of Daniel here and there. 


I suppose you can’t avoid Bill… It would be a major spoiler to tell you who he is, but I’m happy to say I was actually right about this character! Every inkling I had was right! woop!


Overall, I loved this book. There isn’t a lot to say because it was all about Luce’s past lives, but that really doesn’t change it’s enjoyment factor. I’m also pleased with the ending, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next!


I’m so happy my boyfriend decided to give me a present, and I’m glad it was this! Thank you!


Rating: 4/5 – purely because the book didn’t exactly have a lot happening in it.. we just learned a lot, as did Luce!

Leave a Reply

