Top Ten Books of 2012 so far!

It’s no secret that 2012 has been amazing in terms of books! But I’ve read plenty of books this year that I’ve loved that were released in years prior. So, without waiting any longer! Here are my top 10 books of 2012 so far! Going from number 10 all the way to number 1!

10. Looking For Alaska by John Green.
Released: March 3rd 2005
My Rating: 4 out of 5
What I said about it:
John Green’s debut novel was definitely stunning and a great read.
Why 10?
Honestly, as much as I enjoyed Looking for Alaska, and as much as I love John Green’s work, I read more books that I loved this year. 



9. Cracks by Caroline Green
Released: May 24th 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it: 
I can’t find a fault with Cracks.. It really is an amazing book… 
Why 9?
I loved Cracks, Caroline Green is an amazing writer. I was thrilled to have been introduced to her work. I cannot recommend this author enough!


 8. Bleeding Hearts by Alyxandra Harvey
Released: December 20th 2011
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it:
As expected Harvey produced an amazing addition to The Drake Chronicles
Why 8?
I’m a huge fan of this series, and Alyxandra’s writing is amazing. Another author I love, and one I’d happily recommend!


7. Clockwork Angel by Cassanda Clare 
Released: September 6th 2010
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it: 
I really enjoying Clockwork Angel and I can’t wait to get my hands on Clockwork Prince 
Why 7? 
It started off a little confusing, but quickly got better and I soon got into it. Amazing read, and an amazing author! I want to get my hands on her other works!

  6. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson.
Released: September 29th 2011
My Rating: 4 out of 5
What I said about it:
I have to say first of all, I actually really enjoyed this book!
Why 6?
Now, I know what you’re thinking, Tyler this has got a lower rating that the books that came before it! Why is it at number 6? Honestly, it’s because I really did love the book. It only lost a star rating because of the ending… I can’t let that judge the rest of the book. I love Maureen Johnson’s writing, and I really do think this series will be great. 

5. My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent
Released: January 1st 2011
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it:
I read this book over two days and enjoyed every bit of it
Why 5? 
Honestly My Soul to Take was a completely new concept of bean sidhes which weren’t entirely new to me, but in the books they are! And it’s great! Rachel Vincent has herself a winner here!


4. Tempest by Julie Cross
Released: January 5th 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it:
It was great! Enjoyable! And excited! A full win!
Why 4?
I love time travel and Julie’s interpretation was brilliant. Jackson can only travel within his lifespan! I thought the book was brilliant!


And the top 3 books so far of this half of 2012!


3. Divergent by Veronica Roth
Released: May 3rd 2011
My Rating: 5 out 5
What I said about it: 
So many feelings right now!…Just so many feelings
Why 3?
Seriously I had such a hard time deciding between the top three and where they were going to place. I finally settled on Divergent being number 3 because I loved it, but I felt like I was only reading it because of the release of Insurgent. Everyone was so excited and I felt as if that meant I had to read Divergent. So I did. It was still amazing! Definitely worth the read!

2. The Fault in our Stars by John Green
Released: January 12th 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it: 
In one day I read the entire novel and was laughing and very nearly crying (in MANY parts) over and over again!
Why 2?
I adored this book. I adored the characters. The plot. Everything. I can’t find faults with John Green’s latest work. 

 1. Wither by Lauren DeStefano
Released: March 22nd 2011
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it: 
I’d give this book an impossible rating… were it possible, which it isn’t… But the point is, it was amazing
Why 1?
Wither was brilliant. I’ve never read anything like it before and it was such a lovely read. A great book. The author’s writing is easy to read and understand without being patronizing. Rhine was a brilliant character, and I loved the journey she takes. 

Honourable mentions:

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L James – amazing book, just not family friendly!
Dark Ride by Caroline Green – absolutely loved Dark Ride, I’ve just read better books
Until I Die by Amy Plum – It’s the second in a series, and I was desperately trying to avoid series (with the exception of Bleeding Hearts because The Drake Chronicles is epic!)
You Against Me by Jenny Downham – I had no faults for this book at all, but I’ve just read better books this year (so far) unfortunately!
 Forgiven by Jana Oliver – Again, I was trying to avoid series. But Forgiven was by far the best of The Demon Trapper series so far!


Leave a Reply

