Cover Wars (#10)


I’d like to give credit where it is due here, but I don’t know who started Cover Wars. So if anyone does know, leave a link to their blog down below! 

But, basically each week (on a friday) I’ll be looking at the cover’s of a US version of a book and a UK version of the book (unless I like the version from somewhere else, then i’ll include that one too).

US / Oldest

UK / Old
So, I was stuck for what to do this week for the Cover Wars – and since my boyfriend is staying over, he helped me out. He loves this series, I’m not such a huge fan, but I am a huge fan in the differences in the covers. Which makes the Northern Lights books a great choice for a Cover Wars.

Starting with the US, the first thing I noticed was the fact that the name was changed. Andy promises me this caused Pullman fans to have a fit. This I believe. I mean, I don’t like it when book names get changed, it really annoys me. Although I think the Golden Compass suits the book more, I think the US book should have stuck with the original title – if nothing else, for the sake of consistency. Amusingly, The Northern Lights’ main picture is the ‘golden compass’. Yet the Golden Compass’ main picture is of a polar bear? Sense? Nope. 

I definitely favour the UK covers. So it’s my pleasure to Old vs New as well. 

UK from above… vs…

New
First of all, this cover is way better when you see it in person. I’m sure it’s got a sparkle to it in reality. Basically, I really adore this cover. I think it’s more elegant – this book matches the other new ones in the series perfectly. They don’t have random images on the front of them, they’re beautiful. Usually I hate block colours, so I was iffy about this cover AT FIRST, but the elegant element and the different shades of blue make this cover so much prettier. 

To recap:
UK vs US = UK
Old vs New = New

What do you think? Let me know in the comments below!



Leave a Reply

