Review: Stolen Night by Rebecca Maizel

Title: Stolen Night (Vampire Queen #2)
Author: Rebecca Maizel
Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Release Date: July 5th 2012
Pages: 427
Read it in: 3 days
Source: Amazon


You can buy it on amazon


Synopsis: Goodreads:


Lenah Beaudonte should be dead. But having sacrificed herself to save another, she finds herself awakening with strange powers that are neither vampire nor human – and with a new enemy on her trail. In her vampire life, Lenah had thought that being human was all she ever wanted; but the human heart suffers pain, heartbreak and loss. With her new powers growing and the dark force of the Nex after her soul, Lenah faces a choice: between the mortal love of gorgeous Justin, whose passion fed her human soul, and taking a different path to become the mistress of her own destiny, wherever that may lead…

My Review:


Holy wow. Infinite Days was and still is one of my favourite books, and has been since I read a proof copy way back when in 2010. Infinite Days was addictive and gripping, and Stolen Night held the same qualities. Although in saying that, where the story went in Stolen Night, I wasn’t expecting. Much like plenty of other bloggers who have read this book, I thought I knew what would happen in Stolen Night, but only some of it did. 


Mostly it was the return of an old friend that gave this book the huge twist I wasn’t expecting. Although in saying that, I was incredibly happy when it happened. The whole book revolved around Lenah and Vicken and Justin and her old friend (trying to keep out spoilers) trying to protect themselves and their school against a new vampire threat. A vampire whom was turned by Lenah, the ex vampire queen – Odette. 


It all seems pretty straight forward, but Odette has got awesome powers that even Lenah is baffled by – she can heal herself extremely quickly, she’s stronger than thought possible and is insanely fast. So Lenah, a seventeen-year-old human and her three friends have to go up against her to stop her. Again, straight forward… But the amount of twists in this book is something that makes it very addicting. As soon as you think you understand what’s going on, another doubt will creep into your mind and make you think something else. 


Throughout a lot of Stolen Night I was talking aloud – which proved bad since I read a lot of it in my boyfriends room whilst he was asleep – just trying to get my theory straight before the next twist happened. Luckily, I figured out one of the twists early on as I didn’t trust a certain character, but in saying that I still didn’t expect the majority of the twists that occur. 


We’re introduced to two insanely strong groups of people in this story, The Hollow Ones and the Aeris. Each were a very interesting addition to the story, and I quite liked getting to know each of them. 


I absolutely loved the sarcastic, witty Vicken in this novel – he was brilliant. He made me laugh a lot, especially during the whole event with a bruise on his face – I think I laughed a lot more than I should during those two pages.. And other characters that I liked before I hated in this novel – not going to say, trying not to give anything away. 


All in all, Maizel has once again given us an amazing novel, one I’ll be happy to read and read again. Absolutely brilliant, addictive and gripping just like the first book. 


Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

