Review: Burned by P.C and Kristin Cast

Title: Burned (House of Night #7)
Author: P.C and Kristin Cast
Publisher: Atom
Release Date: April 27th 2011
Pages: 323
Read it in: 2 Days
Source: Waterstones

You can buy it on amazon.

 
Synopsis: Goodreads:
 

Y’all need to get yourselves together. Here’s a newsflash from the only High Priestess you have left at this dang school: Zoey isn’t dead. And believe me, I know dead. I’ve been there, done that and got the fricken tee-shirt.

Zoey Redbird is the youngest High Priestess in House of Night history and is the only person—vamp or fledgling—that can stop the evil Neferet from raising all kinds of immortal trouble. And she might just have a chance if she wasn’t so busy being dead.Well, dead is too strong a word. Stevie Rae knows she can bring her BFF back from her unscheduled va-cay in the Otherworld. But it’s going to take a lot more than hoping to bring Zoey back. Stevie Rae will have to give up a few secrets of her own… 
My Review:
 
So my plan to have read all 9 of the House of Night books before Hidden was released, didn’t exactly go well, but I’ve done a good job! So Burned is the 7th book in this series of 12, and I am still just as hooked as I was when I read Marked (both for the first time and the second time). Although for some, it seems as though the story line is being dragged on, I really like where P.C and Kristin Cast are taking it – and I’m looking forward to seeing how it continues!
 
Onto Burned…
 
I loved three relationships in this story most, with a sweet fourth relationship:
 
Zoey and Stark: Ever since Stark became a part of the House of Night novels I loved him and I was always hoping that something would happen between him and Zoey because they were RIGHT together! And this novel proved it. Stark goes on a very difficult journey in the attempt at saving his ‘queen’ – oh yeah, Zoey gets a new title! And to be honest, I learned a lot about the pair along the way. I’m really happy that Zoey loves Stark, and I’m happy that Stark gets over his jealous self long enough to help Zoey… These two are great together and I love this relationship. I’ll ship this one till I die!
 
Stevie Rae and Rephaim: I adore Rephaim! Bad guy or not! Mr bad evil Raven Mocker has feelings too, ya know! Anyway, so yes. I’ve liked Rephaim since Stevie Rae found him wounded. And in this novel he goes that extra mile (again!) to prove that he has feelings! So many quotes from this pair in this novel *swoons* honestly, I love them. Stevie Rae becomes just as annoying as Zoey was when she had like three boyfriends on the go – and S.R only has two! But at the end of the day guys, can you all just learn to break up with someone? Please? 
 
Aphrodite and Darius: AWWWH! This pair! Stealing all my feels! Honestly! Darius is so sweet to Aphrodite in this novel and proves that he absolutely loves her! And thankfully, Aphrodite seems to start believing this fact. As much as I didn’t want to like this relationship at first, I can’t help it. I mean, Darius is actually changing Aphrodite for the better! Can’t argue with that!
 
Zoey and Heath: A lot of my friends know I hate Zoey and Heath as a couple, but a lot can be said for Heath in Burned. In Burned, I kinda wished him and Zoey could be together. Don’t get me wrong! I was really upset when Heath died and all, but I was happy because that meant Zoey and Stark could be together… Then Burned came along… Heath is so sweet and caring to Zoey in this novel, and I’m happy with him. 
 
Apart from the relationships that I loved, I of course have characters that I’m not so happy with. DRAGON! Need I say more? If you’ve read this book, and you like Stevie Rae, well then you’ll know what I mean. But anyway, I have no issues with the story line so far. I love the writing. I love the characters and I just cannot wait to sink my teeth into Awakened (the last book that I’ve read in this series!) Before finally moving onto Destined (FINALLY!) and Hidden!
 
Rating: 5/5
Leave a Reply

