Review: Blink Once by Cylin Busby

Title: Blink Once
Author: Cylin Busby
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: October 11th 2012
Pages: 288
Read it in: 2 days (well, 1 and a bit)
Source: Publisher, For review

You can buy it on amazon.
Synopsis: Goodreads:

 
West is a high school senior who has everything going for him – until an accident leaves him paralysed. Strapped down in his hospital bed, moving in and out of consciousness, West is isolated and alone. Until he meets Olivia.

Olivia is the girl next door – though not the typical girl next door. She is in the hospital room next to his, and before long, she’s sneaking into his room to talk with him. Only Olivia seems to know what he’s thinking, and even dreaming about. Yet certain questions haunt him: Why is Olivia in the hospital? And how is she connected to the terrible dreams he’s been having? But the biggest shock of all comes when West must face the possibility that the girl he’s fallen in love with – and who’s done more to aid his recovery than anyone else – may not even be alive.
My Review:
 
Wow! Blink Once is one of the only books as of late to make me cry at some point or another. Seriously, this book is emotional and not for young readers. The whole idea of this short novel could be found to be upsetting for many readers no matter the age – it was for me. 

The story is told from West’s point of view who is in a coma at Wilson’s hospital. It’s here he meets the girl he loves, he didn’t know it at the time… but in time he comes to love this girl, Olivia. Olivia starts off mean, but she starts helping West… Showing him how to do things that he needs to communicate, taking him on midnight walks etc. 

It’s here, in this coma, that West falls in love. However, what’s heartbreaking is what happens after SPOILER West comes out of his coma and finds out the truth about the girl of his dreams. Spoiler, over.

I loved Busby’s way of writing and convincing me that I should be smiling or crying depending on what turn the writing took. I’m definitely a fan, and I can’t wait to see more from Cylin Busby!

Rating: 5/5 
10 thoughts on “Review: Blink Once by Cylin Busby

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren't loading correctly. I'm not sure why but I
    think its a linking issue. I've tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

    Also visit my weblog … ace hardware shirt

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for the gooԁ writeup. It
    іn reаlity ωas a amusement acсount it.
    Looκ cοmplex to far introduced agгeeable frоm you!
    Howeѵer, hоω cаn we kеер up
    a сorгespοndеnce?

    Feel free to surf to my blog – facebook cuenta gratis

  3. Anonymous says:

    I lіke thе hеlpful information you provide to
    yοur articles. I wіll bookmaгκ your blog and check again rіght
    heгe regularly. I'm somewhat sure I will be informed many new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

    my homepage :: abrir cuenta facebook

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hi, I do beliеve this іs an excellent blog. I stumbleduροn it 😉 I will come
    back once again ѕince i have bοok-marκed іt.
    Money anԁ freedom is thе gгeatest way to change, may уou be rich and сontinue to help others.

    Revieω my web blog – abrir cuenta facebook

  5. Anonymous says:

    ӏ don't even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don't
    know who you aге but ԁefinitеly you are gοіng to a famous blogger
    if уou arе not alrеadу 😉 Ϲheers!

    Also viѕit my web blog – Crear Facebook Gratis

  6. Anonymous says:

    of cοursе liκe your websitе but yοu havе to check the sрelling on sevеral of уouг pоsts.

    A numbеr of thеm are rіfe with ѕpelling pгoblеms anԁ I to find іt vеry botherѕomе
    to inform the truth however I will suгely сomе baсκ аgain.

    Here is my web blog … http://super417super.pixnet.net

Leave a Reply

