Review: Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Title: Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares
Authors: Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Publisher: Mira Ink
Release Date: 5th October 2012
Pages: 260
Read it in: 1 day
Source: Publisher for review

You can buy it on amazon.

 
Synopsis: Goodreads:
 
“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Timesbestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.
My Review:
 
This is probably one of the only Christmassy books I have, and so I decided to pick this is up and read it over everything else. I’m glad I made that decision since I’ve managed to read it in a day. Rachel Cohn was a new author to me, I’ve not read any of her other work but I had read Will Grayson Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green, so I was some what familiar with Levithan. 
 
This book had everything a good Christmas book needs. Humour. I found myself laughing at many different moments during this novel as Dash and Lily set each other dares through the means of a red notebook. That and the whole baby stealing/catching/saving thing had me in fits of laughter. 
 
Set around Christmas, Dash and Lily set each other a series of dares, without ever meeting face to face – though both hope to do this – and none of their friends or family members will give anything away either. The dares involve sneaking out at 2am to go to a club, going to perv on/with/by Santa at the ‘mall’… They were quite funny.
 
I found the book easy to read, the characters easy to relate to and of course I found the actual story entertaining and interesting. Only fault I have was purely the fact that I felt some of the characters weren’t necessary (at all) to the story. So I occasionally found myself reading pages that I weren’t interested in. 
 
Other than that, I thoroughly loved this book. Great Christmas read! I’m glad I waited till now to pick it up, rather than reading it when I got it in October!
 
Rating: 5/5
Leave a Reply

