Top Ten Books of 2012, Part 2! Six Months On!

So exactly 6 months on, I’m here to share with everyone what I thought to be the top ten books July – December on my blog. The ones I enjoyed the most! Each spot had more than one contender, none were easy to choose this time… Well, maybe a few!


10. Lolly Luck by Ellie Daines
Released: February 20th 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
What I said about it:
Lolly Luck is a childish book, with easy writing but very tough subjects.
Why 10?
I enjoyed how real this book was and how relatable it was. Great debut novel!

9.  Wake by Robert J. Sawyer
Released: March 2009
My Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What I said about it:
I like the story that Sawyer comes up, I think it’s interesting and very original. A girl who can see the web? I mean, I’ve never read a book that had that as a concept before.
Why 9?
I was introduced to this series when I first met my boyfriend and I’d spend a good year wanting to read them. I’m glad I got round to it because I really enjoyed it!Review Here.

8.  Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
Released: August 3rd 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this story, both the romance side of it and the coping side of it. It was sweet, never boring, there was always something happening…
Why 8?
I’m glad there was lots of hype surrounding this novel because I really enjoyed reading it. It was entertaining and interesting. The characters were well developed and I loved the story and the stories involved in it.
Review Here.

7.  Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Released: August 2nd 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
Throne of Glass, was fresh, interesting and addicting. I loved reading every second of this story.
Why 7?
Again i’m glad that this book blew up in the book blogging community because it definitely deserved it. It was a great book to read and it had me hooked!
Review Here.

6.  Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 
Released: 5th October 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
I found the book easy to read, the characters easy to relate to and of course I found the actual story entertaining and interesting.
Why 6?
I was looking for a Christmassy book to read, and I’m so glad I had this on my shelf. It was amazing, funny and just all round entertaining. 
Review Here.

5. Stolen Night by Rebecca Maizel
Released: 5th July 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
All in all, Maizel has once again given us an amazing novel, one I’ll be happy to read and read again. Absolutely brilliant, addictive and gripping just like the first…
Why 5?
Trying to avoid sequels in these top ten’s, never goes to plan really. I adored Infinite Days so it’s only fair that it’s incredible sequel is included!
Review Here.



4. Matched by Ally Condie

Released: December 1st 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
Another epic Dystopian to add to my bookcase. Ally Condie’s writing is addicting and wonderful.
Why 4?
I agree with that statement completely. I’m glad I have it on my shelf as it’s a truly wonderful addition. I’m sure I’m going to adore this series as much as I adored everything else!
Review Here.

The Top 3 Books of 2012 Part 2!

3. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Released: May 1st 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
I adored Insurgent. I adored the romance, I adored the action, I adored the traitors, I adored the characters… Just everything. I can’t fault this book. 
Why 3?
I think the quote really speaks for itself here. I truly adored this book. I faulted nothing. Loved everything. I cannot wait for the final installment. [Ironically, Divergent was number 3 in the previous top ten!]
Review Here.


2. Blink Once by Cylin Busby
Released: 11th October 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
Blink Once is one of the only books as of late to make me cry at some point or another.
Why 2?
I still cannot believe how a book that discusses the topics of coma’s and death to be so romantic… relatable… beautiful. I adored this book, despite the nasty topics… The writing was beautiful, so was the story itself… Definitely 2nd place material!
Review Here.

1. Breathe by Sarah Crossan
Released: 11th October 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this story… I’d recommend this book to anyone over the age of 13… because I think everyone… would enjoy this novel
Why 1?
I stand by this. Breathe was a brilliant concept, told from the point of view of three characters (ranging from different groups in the novel). The story was brilliant, and Crossan writes beautifully. I can’t fault this novel. I can’t wait for its sequel.
Review Here.

Honourable mentions:

Forget me Never by Gina Blaxill – I loved this book, but I already had a few books that dealt with tough topics…
Foretold by Jana Oliver – it was a brilliant end to the series, but I didn’t want to suggest that people read the last book in the series…
Phobia by C.A Shives – I adored this book, I still shudder thinking about it now! But it’s for that reason… Not hugely family friendly with the murder and that jazz…
Dreamless by Josephine Angelini – I really enjoyed Dreamless, but I was trying to keep the sequels to a minimum…
Leave a Reply

