Review: The Declaration by Gemma Malley

Title: The Declaration (The Declaration #1)
Author: Gemma Malley
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: November 8th 2012
Pages: 295
Read it in: All-in-All about a week
Source: Publisher for Review

You can buy it on amazon

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Anna Covey is a ‘Surplus’. She should not have been born. In a society in which ageing is no longer feared, and death is no longer an inevitability, children are an abomination.

Like all Surpluses, Anna is living in a Surplus Hall and learning how to make amends for the selfish act her parents committed in having her. She is quietly accepting of her fate until, one day, a new inmate arrives. Anna’s life is thrown into chaos. But is she brave enough to believe this mysterious boy?

A tense and utterly compelling story about a society behind a wall, and the way in which two young people seize the chance to break free.

My Review:

So this story, this concept was one that I figured was going to be an awesome novel! And for the most part, The Declaration really was! I loved the majority of the novel. Of course, I’m using the word majority. I have my issues with the novel….

Firstly, the story I loved. The idea of a new drug having been invented to keep people alive was a great idea for a story, which only got better of the added twist of a population control. The character of Mrs Pincent I loved and it wasn’t until later in the novel where I fully understood why she was Mrs Pincent… But I found through the novel (even at the start, before I knew what I now know) I liked her character. And that’s the same with a lot of the characters, Anna… Peeta… Kate and Alan…

However. As much as I liked most of the characters, the fact that I just didn’t care for a few AT ALL is where part of the story got spoiled for me. But for the characters like Shelia and Sharpe… I just didn’t feel anything towards them. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed Sharpe nearing the end of the novel… I understood why she was there and all, but at the end of the day I knew what was going to happen in her situation and that meant I felt no sympathy towards her at all. 

The writing itself was easy to read and understand, which I suppose is why some people (including myself at times) believe the writing to be somewhat… childish. But that for me didn’t take any of the enjoyment out of reading it. 

There were a few parts in the novel that I just couldn’t seem to read with speed – they generally bored me. Then other parts where I couldn’t read them fast enough! All in All I was reading this book for about a week, but most of this time was there because of the fact that I just couldn’t get through some of the chapters.

I enjoyed The Declaration and I will be reading the rest of the trilogy. 

Rating: 3.5/5 

Leave a Reply

