Destined by P.C and Kristin Cast

Title: Destined (House of Night #9)
Author: P.C and Kristin Cast 
Publisher: Atom
Release Date: October 25th 2011
Pages: 325
Read it in: 2 days
Source: Waterstones

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Zoey is finally home where she belongs, safe with her Guardian Warrior, Stark, by her side, and preparing to face off against Neferet – which would be a whole lot easier if the High Counsel saw the ex-High Priestess for what she really is. Kalona has released his hold on Rephaim, and, through Nyx’s gift of a human form, Rephaim and Stevie Rae are finally able to be together – if he can truly walk the path of the Goddess and stay free of his father’s shadow…

But there are new forces at work at the House of Night. An influx of humans, including Lenobia’s handsome horse whisperer, threatens their precarious stability. And then there’s the mysterious Aurox, a jaw-droppingly gorgeous teen boy who is actually more – or possibly less – than human. Only Neferet knows he was created to be her greatest weapon. But Zoey can sense the part of his soul that remains human, the compassion that wars with his Dark calling. And there’s something strangely familiar about him…

Will Neferet’s true nature be revealed before she succeeds in silencing them all? And will Zoey be able to touch Aurox’s humanity in time to protect him – and everyone – from his own fate? 

My Review:

I don’t even know where to begin with this review. I’m still confused by the ending (Dragon? Kalona? Death? Anyone?) but still absolutely in love with it. I still adore this series, I do. The cliffhangers, although frustrate some, just make me want to read on more than I already want to half the time. 

With the introduction of Aurox I thought that this book would drag, too many character to keep track of and so on… And then I found out that Dragon and even Shaunee had their own chapters! I really thought I was going to get confused, but the Cast’s cleverly made it so you didn’t. They rarely had chapters, and when they did it was important. 

This novel is still not my favourite as I don’t really like Heath so I don’t know where I stand with Aurox yet, but it is definitely right up there with the best of the series. The twist at the end has only made me frustrated that I left Hidden at University whilst I came home for Easter. I was tempted to buy another copy just so I could read it! But of course, that would be silly  of me, right? 

Despite the massive confusion caused by the ending (I repeat, a good confusion) I loved this book and I’m still a huge fan of the House of Night series as it slowly comes to an end. I believe there are to be a total of 12 books in this series, and with Hidden being book number 10 we’re getting close to the end…

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

