Review: If I Should Die by Amy Plum

Title: If I Should Die (Revenants #3)
Author: Amy Plum
Publisher: Atom
Release Date: May 1st 2013
Pages: 405
Read it in: A Day
Source: From Publisher for Review

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis:

I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying – to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others – so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me?

My Review:

So we all know how excited I was when I received Until I Die in the post for review, but that excitement was nothing compared to If I Should Die appearing in my post when I returned home from Uni for a weekend! I was so happy to have the privilege to read this book and review it before it was released, that it has done nothing by frustrate me for the last two weeks as I haven’t been able to pick it up!

However! Last night whilst curled up in bed feeling rather crap, I did it! I picked it up and began on what I knew was a bad journey. I always hate reading the last book in the series or the last book in a trilogy because it means they’re over but despite this bad feeling I had, I have to say that when I finished If I Should Die I was not upset. Not at all. I felt like this book didn’t leave me on a cliffhanger as such (as I find with many others), but it left me just feeling happy. Feeling happy for the characters, main and side ones. I feel like where some of the characters ended up (though upsetting) was where they belonged… I had hoped that something would come out of handing Kate the wedding rings of her parents… but oh well… 

The story itself made me near tears a few times, jump for joy (despite causing me a lot of pain!) a few times and make me ‘awwh’ or laugh out loud which probably made anyone around me think I was crazy (I lie, no one was around me… but I can pretend!). Amy Plum just knows how to write a good book I think! As I explained on facebook I expected most of what happened in this conclusion to happen/ really really hoped that it would happen. And that predicitability can usually been seen as bad, but here’s the difference: I fudging loved it. I loved seeing what I hoped would happen come to life! 

Finding out more about the Paris Revenants and their history, even travelling to New York and finding out about the kindred there. I loved the inclusion of Mamie and Papy in this story also, and I’m glad Georgia continued to have a funny role in everything. 

But most importantly I loved Kate and Vincent. If I wasn’t so happy with Andy, I would definitely be looking for a Vincent. Currently, Vincent is definitely one of my biggest fictional crushes – who doesn’t love him!? But in saying that, my heart broke for Jules in this book – I never read the Die For Her novella which was written from Jules’ POV so I don’t know what happened in there, but I have always had a soft spot for Jules… Poor Jules…

But ugh! Violette, I hate you! You cow! Amy did a great job in making me really hate her and I’m glad, I usually hate the wrong person – as proven by many many previous reviews!

As the realization hits me that this is the end of the Revenants series, I can’t help but ask what does Amy Plum have in store for us next? All I know is, I can’t wait!

Rating: 5/5

3 thoughts on “Review: If I Should Die by Amy Plum

  1. Anonymous says:

    I let my daughter play metal gear awesome
    3 because of his upset about the divorce. The
    most recent instalment, Modern Warfare 3, it is still a key in the game that
    will not work. 1bn for the first nine months compared to the first
    has many differences including unlimited lives. You need one
    in order to judge their moral and keep it high.
    Take a 15 minute break Game is similar to Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift.

    Visit my weblog :: metal gear solid flash game

Leave a Reply

