Review: Fever by Lauren DeStefano

Title: Fever (The Chemical Garden #2)
Author: Lauren DeStefano
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Release Date: (of this copy): February 28th 2013
Pages: 341
Read it in: 1 day
Source: Waterstones

You can buy it on amazon

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion. But danger is never far behind.

Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago―surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous―and in a world where young woman only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion… by any means necessary.

In this sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price―now that she has more to lose than ever.

My Review:


So I’m not exactly sure what to write about this book, I really enjoyed Wither and was really looking forward to Fever (sadly I had to wait for the smaller format to come out..) but I can’t help but say I was disappointed. I was a huge Linden fan and the lack of him in this novel made it some what bland for me.

I’m not a huge Gabriel lover, and I wasn’t thrilled when they ran away together either. It’s not that he’s bland or anything, or there is no chemistry between them because there definitely is. I felt so many feels towards these two during different points during the book, and I do love what Gabriel did for Rhine… I just prefer Linden. 

The story itself…. well whilst reading it I felt as though none of it was necessary, but then as I got closer to finishing the book, I realised that no I actually really enjoyed the story. And it was necessary, as I found out for Rhine’s defeat at the end. If she hadn’t have gone through what she had, I feel as though the ending would have been very different, the attachments she formed and such were important. 

I was so happy when Linden appeared again, though I was really unhappy at first, and I still kind of am, but I love him ❤ So he can’t do anything wrong in my books! Cecily still annoys me and I still hate her. Ugh. And VAUGHN! You *insert bad word*. Ugh, again. I don’t know… He’s an amazing bad guy, Lauren writes him well. But I just hate him. With a passion. 

ROWAN! I want to know what’s going on at the end of this novel. Can we please see Rowan soon? 😀 Please? 

Overall I was definitely less impressed with Fever, but the ending brought it back for me. I’m hoping Sever picks the trilogy up again… But both you and I know, the ending I want… I won’t get ): 

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

