Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

de9e6-obsidian

Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Publishing LLC
Release Date: May 8th 2012 (2nd Edition)
Pages: 361
Read it in: 1 day
Source: Kobo Store

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

When seventeen-year-old Katy Swartz moved to West Virginia right before her senior year, she’d pretty much resigned herself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring, but then she spotted her hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up…until he opened his mouth. Daemon Black is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. It’s hate at first sight, but when a stranger attacks her and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. The hot guy next door? Well, he’s an alien. Turns out that Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities and Katy is caught in the crosshairs. Daemon’s touch has lit her up like the Vegas Strip and the only way she’s getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until her alien mojo fades. That is if she doesn’t kill him first.

My Review:


*grabs fist fulls of hair* I. Want. Onyx.

So, I finally got round to getting a copy of Obsidian – shame I had to wait to get an e-reader in order to read it! No shops near me had Obsidian  so I decided to get the eBook. I started to read it this morning, and from the moment I started I couldn’t put it down! I loved the writing, the story, the characters. It all. 

I have literally no faults for this novel, and I suppose that’s why a lot of you bloggers are ALWAYS talking about how much of an amazing writer Jennifer is and how awesome this series is. Well, I now agree. Fully. 100%. But I have to wait to buy Onyx, I spent too much on books this morning! But I will get round to it! 

Kat was an interesting character, even if she did get into trouble a few times. I loved that she didn’t immediately fall into Daemon’s arms the first chance she got, but this frustrated me. I just wanted them to kiss!!

Daemon *swoons*. I love him. He’s your typical mysterious guy, who pissed me off in the beginning – he was just a jerk! But as the story went on, I found my love for him, and now I understand why everyone loves him so badly, consider me in the Daemon fan club. 

I loved Dee also! She was so sweet to Kat, and it was adorable just how badly she wanted a normal friend. I’d love a friend like Dee – except, I wouldn’t let her eat half my pizza! Crazy girl!!

All in all, the characters were all well written and the story had a great pace to it. Sadly (but in a good way, honest!) it’s left me wanting more. It’s sad because I can’t have more… Not yet anyway.

I’m fully converted and can’t wait to read more of Jennifer’s work!

Rating: 5/5

One thought on “Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

