Review: Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

Title: Ashes
Author: Ilsa J. Bick
Publisher: Quercus UK
Release Date: September 29th 2011
Pages: 465
Read it in: All together, about 3 or 4 days
Source: WH Smiths

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

No, she thought. No, please, God, I’m not seeing this

Seventeen-year-old Alex is hiking through the wilderness when it happens: an earth-shattering electromagnetic pulse that destroys almost everything.

Survivors are divided between those who have developed a superhuman sense and those who have aquired a taste for human flesh. These flesh-hunters stalk the land: hungry, ruthless and increasingly clever…

Alex meets Tom, a younge army veteran, and Ellie, a lost girl. They will fight together and be torn apart, but Alex must face the most difficult question of all: 
In such a vastly changed world, who can you trust?

A story of high-wire tension, gut-wrenching twist, and burgeoning love,Ashes will leave you breathless.

My Review:

I randomly came across Ashes in W.H Smiths when I was looking for a new series to read, and this one really caught my eye. Partially because of the cover and partially because of the blurb. It really grabbed my attention as something that would interest me. And I was right. From the moment I first started to read it – I loved it. 

The characters were well written and highly amusing at times as well as heart breaking in others. I really enjoyed Alex and Chris. Although I don’t like Rule, I liked Chris, I thought he was sweet. But if I had to choose between the guys, I’d choose Tom – so I don’t like what’s going on with Tom… He was sweet to Ellie and to Mina and Alex… and I really like him. Bleh! 

I think the story is really fun and interesting, and I’m loving where it’s going. The cliffhanger has annoyed me slightly, because as much as I don’t like Rule, it annoys me to know what I now know. But there we go. Even though it’s annoying, I’m still loving where I think it’s going.

Overall, I think it’s a great read, there are slow parts but the action makes up for it!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

