Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Onyx (Lux #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Publishing LLC
Release Date: August 14th 2012
Pages: 328
Read it in: 2 Days
Source: Kobo Store


You can buy it on amazon.


Synopsis: Goodreads:


Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarre connection. I’ve sworn him off even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But against all common sense, I’m falling for him. Hard.

Our relationship issues aren’t out biggest problem…

The Department of Defense is here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And when a new boy shows up a school with a secret of his own, things get complicated fast. I need to choose between my own instincts and Daemon’s.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. Daemon’s never going to stop searching until gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies.

My Review:

I’d known about Jennifer L. Armentrout’s work for a long time, and for some reason I’d never got round to buying her novels. Now all I want to do is read them! I’m loving the Lux Series, and Onyx was no exception to my ever growing love. I am definitely falling head over heels in love with this Author and her work – not to mention her choice of hot main males, Daemon SWOON WORTHY! 


The story line was phenomenal and I just don’t have the words for this series. There have only been a handful of series and books that have caused me to struggle to write the review (in a good way) without just wanting to tell you everything that happens! There were so many twists in this book that I did not expect, characters I still don’t trust – and perhaps should, characters I trusted – and shouldn’t have. It’s all over the place in my head. But the actual story is so easy to follow it’s amazing. 

Katy and Daemon are connected in this novel, and Katy experiences a lot of weird happenings. Feelings grow, some are crushed. But one thing is for certain, Jennifer had me laughing at points, and damn near tears at others (the only reason I didn’t cry most of the time, was because I was reading this with my mum and boyfriend in the room… I’m not a pretty crier!) so my feelings were definitely growing and being crushed as well as Katy’s, Dee’s, and Daemon’s and just about every other character in the book. You really are sent on a roller coaster of emotions – especially with the ending! I don’t know what to think!

I’ve said it a few times in the past that I’d love to give a story more than the 5 star rating that I allow myself to go up to. And Onyx is no exception. It really did just blow me away and I want to praise it more and more, the more I think about it. There isn’t a single thing about this story I don’t love – except for some of the characters! I’m not okay with some of the characters – and if you’ve read the book, then you probably feel the same way I do. Jerks. Not impressed!

If you have any spare time – at all, even like 5 minutes, grab this series. You’ll soon want to drop everything you’re doing just to finish it. I did. I cannot praise this book enough. Definitely one of my favourites of 2013.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

