Review: Touch of Death by Kelly Hashway

Title: Touch of Death (Touch of Death #1)
Author: Kelly Hashway
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: January 15th 2013
Pages: 229
Read it in: Less than a day
Source: Julie sent it me.

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Jodi Marshall isn’t sure how she went from normal teenager to walking disaster. One minute she’s in her junior year of high school, spending time with her amazing boyfriend and her best friend. The next she’s being stalked by some guy no one seems to know. 

After the stranger, Alex, reveals himself, Jodi learns he’s not a normal teenager and neither is she. With a kiss that kills and a touch that brings the dead back to life, Jodi discovers she’s part of a branch of necromancers born under the 13th sign of the zodiac, Ophiuchus. A branch of necromancers that are descendants of Medusa. A branch of necromancers with poisoned blood writhing in their veins. 


Jodi’s deadly to the living and even more deadly to the deceased. She has to leave her old, normal life behind before she hurts the people she loves. As if that isn’t difficult enough, Jodi discovers she’s the chosen one who has to save the rest of her kind from perishing at the hands of Hades. If she can’t figure out how to control her power, history will repeat itself, and her race will become extinct.

My Review:

So, I have to begin this review by thanking Julie for sending me Touch of Death to read, I absolutely loved it. I’d heard of Touch of Death, but never got round to buying myself a copy. With Stalked by Death being released later in the year, I was over the moon to have the chance at joining this paranormal world. I’m glad I did. 

Kelly Hashway looks at necromancers in a very interesting light – I’d never read a book about necromancers before, but have my fair share of movie induced knowledge! But seriously, this book was refreshing. It wasn’t about vampires, or werewolves nor really completely about zombies. But about Medusa! And Hades! And NECROMANCERS! Holy Moly was this book good. 

I just flagged my mum down in the hallway going ‘MUM! READ!’ when all she wanted to do was go to bed. I haven’t exactly figured out how to talk about this book that is even a tiny bit intelligent, I just want to squee over it, and over Alex! 

I loved Jodi, I thought her character was very interesting and cleverly written. She was funny and adorable with the whole waiting to kiss Matt business. But when weird things start happening to Jodi, like killing a deer who then comes back to life… and a rat… and a squirrel .. and a few people, oh and getting her very own stalker, Jodi knows her life won’t be the same, no matter how much she wishes it so. 

Alex, aka Mr Green Eyes, aka her stalker, reveals himself after Jodi starts to come into her powers without knowing it and causes a lot of trouble. Of course, things don’t go smoothly, and there is more trouble before Jodie believes Alex. 

We meet some very bitchy people in this novel, and I’m glad I didn’t like them from the start – there was always something off about a few of them! But I couldn’t quite place my finger on it at first… 

I don’t really know how to explain to you guys how phenomenal this book was, Kelly’s writing and imagination are amazing and I really wanted to be sucked into the necromancer/zombie world. Plus there is quite an awesome spin on Medusa! One I love by the way. 

So overall, I would recommend this to any paranormal fan. Well, actually I’d recommend this to anyone and everyone at the same time. I loved it, and I have no other words for it. Other than how much I loved it, of course. 

Rating: 5/5




One thought on “Review: Touch of Death by Kelly Hashway

Leave a Reply

