Review: Breaking Glass by Lisa Amowitz

Title: Breaking Glass
Author: Lisa Amowitz
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: July 9th 2013
Pages: 297
Read it in: 4 Days
Source: Kay + Publisher for Review

You can buy it on amazon

Synopsis: Goodreads:

On the night seventeen-year-old Jeremy Glass winds up in the hospital with a broken leg and a blood alcohol level well above the legal limit, his secret crush, Susannah, disappears. When he begins receiving messages from her from beyond the grave, he’s not sure whether they’re real or if he’s losing his grip on reality. Clue by clue, he gets closer to unraveling the mystery, and soon realizes he must discover the truth or become the next victim himself.

My Review:

I was left honestly and truly speechless when I finished Breaking Glass, and I’m sure my boyfriend was probably fed up by the gasps and ‘ooo’s and blank stares during the final few chapters of the book, when the mystery all started to come together. But despite the fact that I was left speechless, I know without a doubt that this is one of my favourite books that I’ve read this year. 


Jeremy Glass ends up in hospital, drunk with a broken leg and the potential for a dead secret crush. So much happens to Jeremy that winds up changing his life well and truly, for better in some cases and for worse in others. He has to go through so much trauma in this tale, and yet the trauma after trauma didn’t seem forced by Amowitz, it felt natural – like this wasn’t all written for the sake of making the book interesting, rather just because it was right. I know that sounds weird, but that’s because I don’t really know how to explain what I mean. But I know that nothing about this book was forced, nothing felt like a filler. Not a single story line, not a single character. 

The fact that nothing seemed forced in this novel is partly what makes it so great. Lisa clearly has a talent for writing, and it’s proven in this tale. I honestly don’t think it could have been any better. A twist showed up at all the right times, characters got into trouble in all the right ways. And some of them even got what was coming to them. 

I found myself agreeing and feeling sorry (and occasionally disgusted at), for Jeremy Glass as he uncovers certain information and secrets that probably would have stayed hidden if it wasn’t for his stubborn and nosey nature. 

God, I can’t praise this book enough. I hadn’t read any reviews prior to my reading of Breaking Glass, I didn’t want to be swayed at all because I thought this book was going to be some what similar to another book I’ve read and loved multiple times, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. And in parts it was, and just when I was convinced it was identical, BOOM something happened and changed my mind. 

I absolutely loved the ending to this novel and I don’t think it could have ended better. The characters all either got what was coming to them, or got what they deserved by the end of the novel. I am glad I got the opportunity to read Breaking Glass, and would recommend it to everyone. It was a real word stealer, like I said, I was left speechless.

Rating: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Review: Breaking Glass by Lisa Amowitz

Leave a Reply

