Top Ten Tuesday (#3)

I’ve finally decided to switch out ‘Teaser Tuesday’ for a new Tuesday meme, because I never remember to do TT! So here we go, I’m joining Top Ten Tuesday! 

Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this week’s topic is:  Top Ten Beginnings / Endings of Books.

1. Beginning to Breathe by Sarah Crossan

I made it very clear I loved this book, and I loved the beginning. I had an uncorrected proof copy, but the first line, 

“Breathing is a right, not a privilege, so I’m stealing it back.” 

had me hooked and looking forward to the rest of the tale. 

2. Beginning to Tempest by Julie Cross

God this book was awesome and clever! It looked at time travel so differently, I loved it! 

“My name is Jackson and I can travel through time. Now, wait, it’s not as exciting as you might think. I can’t go back in time and kill Hitler. I can’t go to the future and tell you who wins in the World Series in 2038. So far, the most I’ve ever jumped is about six hours in the past. Some superhero, right?”


3. Beginning to Unremembered by Jessica Brody

I didn’t know much about this book when I got it, so I truly mean, the first few lines sucked me in completley. Both the beginning to the prologue 

“The water is cold and ruthless, lapping against my cheek. Slapping me awake. Filling my mouth with the taste of salty solitude. I cough violently and open my eyes, taking in the world around me. Seeing it for the first time. It’s not a world I recognize.I gaze upon miles and miles of dark blue ocean. Peppered with large floating objects. Metal. Like the one I’m lying on. And then there are bodies.” 

and the beginning to the first chapter 

“Today is the only day I remember. Waking up in that ocean is all I have. The rest is empty space. Although I don’t know how far back that space goes-how many years it spans.”


4. Beginning to Forget me Never by Gina Blaxill

I am just going to jump straight in with this one,

“My cousin Danielle was twenty-six when she died. According to the police she jumped from the balcony of her flat, which, in the words on my foster-mother, wasn’t a very nice way to go. What a stupid thing to say. Is death ever ‘nice’?”


5. Beginning of Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Again, just jumping straight in,

“I wait. They keep us in the dark for so long that we lose sense of our eyelids. We sleep huddled together like rats, staring out, and dream of our bodies swaying. I know when one of the girls reaches a wall. She begins to pound and scream-there’s metal in the sound-but none of us help her. We’ve gone too long without speaking, and all we do is bury ourselves more into the dark. 

The doors open.”


6. Ending to Goddess by Josephine Angelini

I’m not saying anything about any of the endings, except there might obviously be some spoilers – if names are mentioned that are very spoiler-like, I’ll blank them.

“Helen jumped off the bed and rushed to her dresser. She pulled out a little red polka-dot bikini and waved it in the air like a flag before grabbing her coat and stuffing it in the pocket. 

‘Live every day like it’s our last day on earth together,’ she said, beginning their new motto as she jumped out the window.  

‘For forever if we can get away with it,’ insertnamehere finished, joyfully following her.”


7. Ending to Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

“These changed weren’t clean, but they weren’t filthy either. They looked, in fact, very well fed. 

The truth hit her like a hammer.insertnamehere wasn’t fighting them.insertnamehere was feeding them.”


8. Ending to Foretold by Jana Oliver

“He’ll propose in Scotland, on my eighteenth birthday. 

There was no doubt what her answer would be. When Riley’s life had been so terribly bad and there had seemed no end to trouble, misery upon misery heaped on her, her father had always reassured her that everything would be OK. For a long time OK was as good as it could be. Now all those dark days and nights had spun themselves into a promising future that shone like newly-minted gold. She was a journeyman trapper and caretaker of insertnamehere‘s heart. Even Hell knew her name. 

Blackthorne’s daughter would never settle for ‘OK’ ever again. From now on, it’s awesome or nothing.”


9. Ending to Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

“it’s the strangest thing ever. one by one, everyone on-stage tells tiny cooper they appreciate him. (even the guy named phil wrayson – what are the odds?) then the audience gets into the act, row by row. some say it. some sing it. tiny’s crying. i’m crying. everyone’s crying. 

i lose track of how long it takes. then, when it’s all over, the applause starts. the loudest applause you’ve ever heard. tiny steps to the front of the stage. people throw flowers. he’s brought us all together. we all feel that.  

gideon: you did good. 

i link our pinkies again. 

me: yeah, we did good. “


(there is more to this ending, but that would make this post VERY long!)

10. Ending to If I Should Die by Amy Plum

“Life changes so quickly. Not long ago I was mourning the death of my parents and wondering if I could make it through another day. Now I have been handed eternity. And not on a silver platter, either, but down a path lined with pain and bloodshed.  

But I will walk it with my kindred. With this boy I love. Together we will do something worthy and good. We will give our lives for others. Over and over again. 

I don’t have answers to all the questions that lie before me. But Vincent and I have time to figure them out. All the time in the world.”

Of course I wanted to include the ending to Mockingjay, but I couldn’t bring myself to do that, it would spoil way too much – even with names taken out… 

I also really wanted to include the ending to Opal, but that was definitely way too much of a spoiler!

But here is my top ten! I hope you like them! Also, I hope the endings haven’t spoiled much for you!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday (#3)

Leave a Reply

