Review: Shadows by Jennifer L Armentrout

Title: Shadows (Lux #0.5)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Publishing LLC
Release Date: February 21st 2012
Pages: 179
Read it in: 2 days
Source: Bought it myself

You can buy it from amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane.

Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in.

Captivated. Lured. Loved.

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.

My Review:

So, I was reading Shadows for the Lux Read A Thon and I remembered I should also write a review for it since I hadn’t read it yet! So here we are! 

In Shadows we learn about Dawson and Bethany, two quite important characters later in the Lux Series. I really enjoyed learning about these two, especially since I’d already read Obsidian through to Opal before reading Shadows. So for someone who hadn’t read them yet, I suppose you’d simply enjoy it (because it was amazing, as all of JLA’s work is proving to be!). 

I’m quickly learning (as I said) that all of Jennifer L Armentrout’s work is quite simply amazing, and there is no way around it – which is partially why I wanted to take part in the read-a-thon, because her work is just so awesome. Shadows is no different. The writing is, as always, amazing to read as it keeps you hooked and yet it’s easy to follow and understand and love. 

I loved getting to know Bethany and Dawson before the relationship and during it instead of just knowing what happens after (Opal…) because it added some more depth to these characters and made me love them, despite what I knew from the main series. 

I’m really glad I read Shadows, as I usually don’t read prequels – and maybe I will start to read prequels, but one thing I know for certain is, I won’t ever read them first! 

None the less, I absolutely adored Shadows and I would seriously recommend this series to every single one of you!

Rating: 5/5 Stars 

 
Leave a Reply

