Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: August 15th 2013
Pages: 417
Read it in: Overall, 5 Days
Source: For Review from Bloomsbury

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Eighteen-year-old Celaena Sardothien is bold, daring and beautiful – the perfect seductress and the greatest assassin her world has ever known. But though she won the King’s contest and became his champion, Celaena has been granted neither her liberty nor the freedom to follow her heart. The slavery of the suffocating salt mines of Endovier that scarred her past is nothing compared to a life bound to her darkest enemy, a king whose rule is so dark and evil it is near impossible to defy. Celaena faces a choice that is tearing her heart to pieces: kill in cold blood for a man she hates, or risk sentencing those she loves to death. Celaena must decide what she will fight for: survival, love or the future of a kingdom. Because an assassin cannot have it all . . . And trying to may just destroy her.

Love or loathe Celaena, she will slice open your heart with her dagger and leave you bleeding long after the last page of the highly anticipated sequel in what is undeniably THE hottest new fantasy series.

My Review:

Be still my beating heart… What the hell just happened?!

So, the ending of Crown of Midnight made the whole book worth it. It took a turn that honestly I hadn’t been expecting – I’d expected the lead up to it, but not the actual ending itself. Just wow, was it a shocker and a half!

We join Celaena, Dorian and Chaol through their respective journeys of magic, betrayal, love and loss. Totally a weird mix, but it so worked with these three. I’m still very torn with the love triangle although I believe Celaena HAS firmly made her choice, despite recent events. And I’m warming up to it, though I still love me some Dorian

I found it tricky to get into Crown of Midnight originally, it has a slow beginning in my eyes. Though I was told it got better quickly… It took till page 200 (so just under half way) for things to pick up in my opinion. Though this was just before a few series of events that made me unable to put this book down! Seriously, I think I read most of it today alone! It was addictive, heart breaking, heart warming and just all round amazing after this point. And I really loved it.

Sadly due to the lack of time I had to read in the first place, meant that the amount of time it took me to read Crown of Midnight was crazy. It says ‘Overall 5 Days’ because that’s all the time I spent reading it over a 2 WEEK SPREAD! Which like I said, is crazy!

I think I was slightly let down by the sequel, but I will still be picking up the next book because I absolutely MUST know what happens next! Seriously, that ending was just… Easily one of the best Cliffhangers! Easily.

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

