Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Publisher: (Of my version) Penguin
Release Date: (Of my version) September 16th 2009
Pages: 288
Read it in: 1 Day
Source: Bought for myself

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

You can’t stop the future.

You can’t rewind the past.

The only way to learn the secret is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life… forever.

My Review:

I don’t know why I keep denying this to myself when I know it to be true: Thirteen Reasons Why is definitely one of my favourite books of all time. There I’ve said it, now it has to be true. And it couldn’t be more true. I’ve loved this book since I first read it back in 2009. I bought this book on the week of it’s release, because it was on the waterstones new release shelf and it looked good. I’ve loved it ever since. But it’s because of when I bought it, that a review never made it onto the blog, until now.

I find that re-reading books isn’t always easy. Sometimes knowing the story, ruins it for you. Sometimes the magic just isn’t there the second time round. But I don’t have that issue with Thirteen Reasons Why. I think the story gets better EVERY time I read it. Sure I cry a little earlier when I re-read it, but I don’t care. I know what’s coming up, which makes me wish I could stop it, all the more. And I can’t. I really get sucked into Clay’s head. I really wish I could change Hannah’s mind, and stop her from killing herself..

This book is one of those books that really make you think about what you do in life. How simple it would be to bring someone out of the dark… or how easy it would be to push someone further into the dark. I’m not kidding when I say it really does make you think. About everyone. About everything. It’s just one of those that really touches the heart, whether it warms it or breaks it I’m sure is different for everyone who reads it. But it definitely breaks mine every time I read it… Then at the end, warms it back up. Why? Because I’m reminded of why this book is my favourite book of all time.

Which is sad really, because I can’t exactly recommend a book about suicide to everyone who asks ‘what would you recommend?’ or ‘what’s your favourite read?’ because then people might think I’m weird – well weirder than I already am.

But honestly, it’s so cleverly written and the idea is (well was!) so unique! It’s a popular idea now, not that I blame anyone, because seriously it’s a cool and clever idea. But I will always be grateful that Thirteen Reasons Why was the first one of this type of story line, that I read. Because it set the bar high for others of this type. I recently read Breaking Glass by Lisa Amowitz, which was amazing, and of a similar style to this. Is that why I loved it so much? Perhaps. But either way, I loved both the books.

If I could rate this book higher than a 5 I would. I’m tempted to give it its own special rating as it is. Because it is truly my FAVOURITE – how man times have I said that now? A lot? Probably. So, I’m just going to have to cave and give it 5. But I really want everyone to read this book once. If there is one book everyone should read, it’s this one. And I will highly recommend it, every single time I’m asked from now on. Because everyone should read it. At least once.

Rating: 5/5 Stars (though in my head it’s more like 1,000 stars out of 5)

One thought on “Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Leave a Reply

