Review: Half-Blood by Jennifer L Armentrout

Title: Half-Blood (Covenant #1)
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: September 20th 2011
Pages: 242
Read it in: *doesn’t apply* – Read it for a read-a-thon, tried to stick to schedule!
Source: Bought it myself

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1: Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

I was reading Half-Blood for a Covenant Read-A-Thon hosted by Vi at Diety Island  and I’m so glad it’s a thing! I don’t know how long it would have taken me to read Half-Blood otherwise. I’m so glad I got to read it though. Because, after Daimon I wasn’t sure how the series was going to be – it was set up to be cool though. And guess what, it was! It was really amazing!

I loved every second. I felt connected to Alex and to Aiden. I loved Caleb and Seth a lot! Though Caleb kind of annoyed me (I can’t tell why) at the beginning. I just love me some Aiden! I loved all the training scenes between Alex and Aiden, they were funny and great to read. I loved seeing Alex grow from what she was in Daimon to what she is now.

Though I did see the twist coming with the *cough*insertspoilerhere…willneverinsertspoilerhere*cough* I still thought it was cleverly revealed. And I liked how it was handled by the two involved, very realistically (well as realistic as it could be) handled. Though my heart broke for them… ):

I’m really excited to see where the series goes from here – and who wouldn’t be?! it’s a great opening book! And it’s set the series up to be amazing. I’m still in the early stages of fan-girling over everything Jennifer Armentrout writes, and I don’t think that’s going to change. I would recommend this series to anyone who loves Greek Mythology! Similar to Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini (in the sense that they’re both about two people who shouldn’t be together, and greek mythology!) just a lot less complicated! Haha. Oh well. They’re both amazing. And I already know I’m going to love this series to the moon and back.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

3 thoughts on “Review: Half-Blood by Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

