Review: Origin by Jennifer L Armentrout

Title: Origin (Lux #4)
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Release Date: August 27th 2013
Pages: 366
Read it in: 3 Days
Source: Bought it myself

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

My Review:

After the very intense feelings following the end of Opal, myself and many other Lux fans could not wait to get our hands on Origin. The title was different, the cover was different, and we had no idea what the new book would bring. But, I have to say I loved every second of it. It was great having the story told from both Katy and Daemon’s point of view, with it switching regularly to keep us updating on what was happening with both of them and in both their heads. It was great, I loved reading more than just a chapter (albeit a nice addition to the previous books) in Daemon’s POV.

I feel like both Katy and Daemon grew as characters in this novel, I mean they had to given their situation. But alongside them, other characters grew also. We met some new characters, we were given the chance to get to know old characters better, and we got to meet a new race: The Origin’s – and let me tell you, I wouldn’t want to mess with these guys! Oh no!

So we follow a group on their journey to escape, and in the process we meet some nasty people, some alright people and we find out a few dark secrets about some characters we knew before, some we even thought we could trust – maybe we were wrong there. Anyway! I don’t want to give too much away here!

The magic in these novels hasn’t gone anywhere, JLA’s writing is still as addictive as ever and I still adore this novel and the series. So much happened that I expected and a few bits that I didn’t expect, and this made it even better for me! The shock factor of a few of the twists and turns made it even better for me! I really loved it!

I’m pretty sure we’ve met all kinds of Daemon now, including Romantic, Cocky and of course Mean/Cruel, but this brings a-whole-nother side to him! And one I’m glad we got to see! I mean, after all one of my favourite quotes from this book was ‘”Did you think you could stop me?”….”I’ll burn down the world to save her.”‘ so I mean, come on – this gives a great hint as to what kind of Daemon we see in Origin. Katy is just badass in Origin. She is a great Heroine, and it’s easy to identify with her. She is without a doubt one of my favourite female protagonists, that I’ve come across as of late – I love her.

So, I have nothing else to say on the matter, other than everyone should definitely read Origin! And that I’m really sad that this series is coming to an end!

Rating: 5/5

One thought on “Review: Origin by Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

