Review: Perfection by J. L. Spelbring

Title: Perfection
Author: J.L. Spelbring
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: July 16th 2013
Pages: 317
Read it in: 5 Days
Source: Kayleigh – SHP Share Group

You can buy it from amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

The personification of Aryan purity, Ellyssa’s spent her whole life under her creator’s strict training and guidance; her purpose is to eradicate inferior beings. She was genetically engineered to be the perfect soldier: strong, intelligent, unemotional, and telepathic.
Only Ellyssa isn’t perfect.
Ellyssa feels emotions–a fact she’s spent her life concealing. Until she encounters the epitome of inferiority: a dark-haired boy raised among renegades hiding since the Nazis won the war a century ago. He speaks to her telepathically, pushing thoughts into her mind, despite the impossibility of such a substandard person having psychic abilities.
But he does.
His unspoken words and visions of a place she’s never visited make Ellyssa question her creator. Confused and afraid her secret will be discovered, Ellyssa runs away, embarking on a journey where she discovers there is more to her than perfection.

My Review: 

Honestly, I don’t know where to begin this review, and that’s not because I thought it was super amazing. I thought it was good, but not great…

Maybe I just missed something, but I spent a lot of this novel confused – I didn’t really know what was going on other than some guy wanted to finish what Hitler started? I think.. I don’t know. Annoyingly, I wanted to love this so bad, and there are quite a few sections that I love so much! But just my sheer confusion throughout this novel meant I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to..

Both Elyssa and Rein I adored. Both from two separate worlds and yet both able to show each other love. I thought they were a wonderful couple and I loved the chapters with those two in – even before they decided they liked each other – though come on, that was obvious from the get go! Though I half expected Jeremy to come into the story? But it turns out he (despite being on the blurb and everything!) actually only plays a very small part in it? Confusing.

Anyway, another character I loved was Matthew, or Doc. He was great, a great character to read and a great person in the book. He was just great, and I loved him for it. Seriously, one of the only characters (scratch that, THE ONLY) that didn’t annoy me at all, ever during Perfection.

I really hate being let down by novels, especially ones where I’m stuck on a fence, because on one hand I loved it, then on others I’m just too confused to decide whether or not I enjoyed it a lot. Sheesh, being on a fence sucks! Overall, I enjoyed it, and maybe I should just read it again and that would clear up the confusion for me – I don’t know…

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

