Review: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

Title: This Song Will Save Your Life
Author: Leila Sales
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Release Date: October 10th 2013
Pages: 288
Read it in: 1 day
Source: For Review

You can buy it from amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

All her life, Elise Dembowski has been an outsider. Starting a new school, she dreams of fitting in at last – but when her best attempts at popularity fail, she almost gives up. Then she stumbles upon a secret warehouse party. There, at night, Elise can be a different person, making real friends, falling in love for the first time, and finding her true passion – DJ’ing.
But when her real and secret lives collide, she has to make a decision once and for all: just who is the real Elise?

An irresistible novel about hope, heartbreak and the power of music to bring people together.

My Review: 

Wow! I was in such a reading slump, that I was struggling to find any thing to read… I picked up a few books and ended up putting them down after a couple of chapters – due to no fault of the book, just my slump. So I expected it to be the same with This Song Will Save Your Life, but I was so wrong! I couldn’t stop reading. Within 3 and a half hours I’d finished it!

The story surrounding Elise was beautifully written, and heartbreaking at times. But I loved reading every moment of it.  The story wasn’t anything like what I expected, then again I’m not really sure what I expected. Elise has a secret life, at the hidden nightclub, Start. Here she’s a DJ. Here, she is cool.  But in her real life at school, she is far from it. This story follows Elise through her secret and real life, and what happens when these two worlds collide with the help of a handy  web blog.

I’m not sure what I would have done without this book, as it definitely got me back into reading. I can’t wait to read more! If you want a slightly different book, I would suggest this one. Like I said, it did not turn out like I expected it too, and I just loved it.

First book read of the new year, and it was a brilliant start!

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

