Review: Apollyon by Jennifer L Armentrout

ApollyonTitle: Apollyon (Covenant #4)
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: April 4th 2013
Pages: 343
Read it in: 4 / 5 Days
Source: Bought it for myself

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

My Review: *Warning, contains spoilers: Elixir*

So following the wonderful novella, Elixir, we’re left wondering where the hell things for Alex is going to go next. Is it going to get worse? Will she snap out of it? Personally, I had no idea really where it was going to go. I knew where I wanted it to go, of course, but Armentrout is very good at taking you on a roller-coaster ride of emotions – something that sometimes I love, and others I hate.

I’ll admit, after having a novella written from Aiden’s POV I really did miss him in Apollyon, but! None the less, I loved what this novel had to tell. And boy, did it have a lot to tell! Annoyingly, I can’t go into it, because although I know i’m late to the Covenant party, I also know that there are likely to be others who haven’t yet joined in either – to those people I say DON’T WAIT ANY LONGER! PICK UP THIS SERIES!

So we’ll start off talking about the controversial character: Seth. So far it seems you either love him or hate him, I haven’t found anyone who is like ‘he’s alright.’. You either love him, a lot. Or hate him. Big time. I found myself loving Seth up until Elixir where he went off track a little, okay a lot. And I really did feel like that was going to be the last time I liked this character at all, because I was team St. Delphi all the way now (for those who haven’t read the book St. Delphi is Aiden’s last name!). I knew it would happen at some point, he was just too yummy for me to ignore forever! But following Elixir and going into Apollyon, I found my love for Seth return, I honestly felt sorry for him. His want for acceptance drove him to do a lot that he did, and I still hate certain characters for using that against him! Hopefully he’ll redeem himself in Sentinel…

Now onto my lurrrrvebirds. Aiden and Alex have a really tough time in Apollyon. Made tougher by this stupid connection that Alex shares with Seth. Oh, and the Gods of course trying to kill Alex. I mean Hades tries multiple times to take this girl out! What a jerk. For good reason though, I suppose – but that doesn’t mean I have to like it! Because I don’t. At all. But I do like Hades in this book, haha. In another book I’ve been reading, Hades is definitely a bigger jerk than this version of Hades. But anyway, back to Alex and Aiden. Despite all the crap they go through, surprise, surprise: they pull through in the end. Isn’t that beautiful? No seriously, it is. God damn these pair deserve a happy ending after all the crap they went through!

I love the relationships that get stronger throughout this book, especially Marcus and Alex. Marcus is really growing on me. And of course, my favourite Great Grandfather God (I didn’t know what else to call him, haha) Apollo! As annoying as this God can be, he along with his sister, are definitely my favourites in this series. I love their involvement in the story and how they add to it. Putting it simply, I just love these two, and the relationship they have with Alex and Aiden. Favourite thing: The Bell. If you’ve read the series, you know what I mean. And if you haven’t, trust me, the bell definitely adds to it and makes it all worth it.

I don’t know where this series is going to go. Part of me feels like it’s not going to have a happy ending: but how many books these days actually don’t have a happy ending? I can’t think of one. SO! Perhaps I’m wrong, but I certainly cannot wait to see where it goes.

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

