Review: Dead Girls Don’t Lie by Jennifer Shaw Wolf

Dead Girls Don't LieTitle: Dead Girls Don’t Lie
Author: Jennifer Shaw Wolf
Publisher: Walker Children’s Books
Release Date: September 17th 2013
Pages: 352
Read it in: 2 Days
Source: Bought it for myself

You can buy it on amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Rachel died at two a.m . . . Three hours after Skyler kissed me for the first time. Forty-five minutes after she sent me her last text. 

Jaycee and Rachel were best friends. But that was before. . .before that terrible night at the old house. Before Rachel shut Jaycee out. Before Jaycee chose Skyler over Rachel. Then Rachel is found dead. The police blame a growing gang problem in their small town, but Jaycee is sure it has to do with that night at the old house. Rachel’s text is the first clue—starting Jaycee on a search that leads to a shocking secret. Rachel’s death was no random crime, and Jaycee must figure out who to trust before she can expose the truth.

In the follow-up to her powerful debut, Jennifer Shaw Wolf keeps readers on their toes in another dark, romantic story of murder and secrets

My Review:

I seem to be very into this type of book, and really I’ve yet to read one that disappoints me. But this was definitely different to, say Breaking Glass or Thirteen Reasons Why. In this, Rachel isn’t exactly talking to Jaycee from the other side… This book definitely had me gripped, I was loving it, more so as it started to all come together. I was figuring it out as the text went on, which was a first for me, haha.

We have a few main characters, there’s obviously Jaycee. She is the main, main, main character. She’s Rachel’s best friend, and the one who Rachel leaves a message for after she’s murdered. She’s very real, which in my opinion is the best bit about Jaycee, she is very real. All her emotions, how she deals with everything, is exactly how I’d expect someone to handle what happens to her.

Then we have Skyler Cross, and I guess his brothers, but we’re gonna focus on Skyler for a moment. Firstly, I think his name is weird, I couldn’t get over his name… But I really liked his character, sure I didn’t expect anything to do with him, or his family, at first. But it all made sense at the end, and over all I feel sorry for Skyler.

Finally, E. I truly feel sorry for this character. I’m leaving his name out, because he’s first mentioned as E, in the book. So yeah, he’s weird, and a little creepy, and I didn’t like him at first. But he definitely redeems himself, and I do feel sorry for him, due to everything he goes through with his cousin, and then Rachel… Poor guy!!

Overall, I really enjoyed the story though. I thought it was cleverly written, as even I was suspecting different people at different times, and didn’t start to piece it together until, well moments before it was revealed. I really did enjoy it, and I’m glad I found the time to finally read it. It was definitely worth it.

Rating: 4.5 / 5

2 thoughts on “Review: Dead Girls Don’t Lie by Jennifer Shaw Wolf

Leave a comment