Review: The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Title: The Perks of being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: August 1st 2012
Pages: 231
Read it in: 1 Day
Source: Hive Books.

You can buy it from Amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his year yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sidelines forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

My Review:

So perhaps this just wasn’t my cup of tea: I thought it would be, yet it turned out not to be. I don’t read many coming-o-age stories, yet this one called out to me and was suggested to me by many friends. A friend read the first chapter to me, and I thought I’d be hooked!

Turned out I was hooked, just not because I was enjoying the story, but more because I just wanted to know a) what the fuss was all about, b) how it ended and c) why it got turned into a movie. I still haven’t watched the movie, and after reading the book I won’t be watching the movie either. Which is disappointing because I was really hoping this book was good. I thought it was cleverly written, especially with the fact that we didn’t know the names of the characters, and there was the constant element of what will happen next, or what has happened to this child.

I got the answer to one of my three question: how it ended. Honestly, I enjoyed the ending. I thought it fit the story. All in all, it was finished well just as it was written well. But, I didn’t figure out what the fuss was about nor did I see how it got turned into a movie. For some reason, the type of book just didn’t seem to be movie material for me. It was written in letters? Perhaps it does work well as a movie, but I wasn’t inspired to go and see it.

However, like I said I was interested in the characters and the story. I wasn’t hooked in the way I’d have liked to have been, but I did enjoy the story. Perhaps it won’t be one I read again and again, but it is one I’m glad to have read at least once, even if it honestly let me down. That’s the danger with hypes! Sometimes, they truly let you down.

I don’t think I’d recommend this book to anyone, if you want to read it, go ahead. But I won’t be recommending it to anyone. Sadly.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

One thought on “Review: The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Leave a Reply

