Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Title: Allegiant (Divergent #3)
Author: Veronica Roth
Publisher: Harper Collins
Release Date: October 22nd 2013
Pages: 526
Read it in: 3 Days
Source: Amazon

You can buy it on Amazon.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories. 

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love. 

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

My Review:

So where do I begin with this? Other than, holy crap all my feels. Annoyingly, a lot of people were spoiling the ending of Allegiant, luckily no one I knew told me details, only ‘I don’t think you’re going to like the ending.’ Over and over again. Problem with this was, I honestly spent a lot of time whilst reading Allegiant looking for tell tale signs of the ending!

Despite looking for tell tale signs of the ending, I really enjoyed the layers to Tris and Tobias’ relationship in this book. Nothing was peachy, there were problems as well as the good moments and overall they prove to be one of the only fictional couples that I really really like. Granted, I wouldn’t want to be friends with them, or catch them in a dark alley, but hey! I really like them. I felt like due to the layers, they are a very real and believable couple. They’re great to read about. But the POVs!!!!

Okay, lets talk about POVs for a second. I love books that have different characters POVs, I love reading about what’s going on from different people’s heads. But Tris and Tobias’ sounded A LOT alike in Allegiant, which at times didn’t help me because I forgot from whose POV I was reading! Not great! Alongside that, Tobias changed from the Tobias we all know and love, to a whiney bitch in this novel with his stupid genes! I do not understand what bothered him so much! Or any one else for that matter, so you have damaged genes, SO WHAT?! I’ll admit, I think these two things are the only things that REALLLLLY annoyed me in Allegiant.

Other characters, not so much. Okay, so I’m not 100% happy with the outcome for a few characters, but I think overall most of the characters got what was coming to them. Some got let off lightly in my opinion, and others I’ll forever feel sorry for. But then again, it’s an end to a trilogy, so some characters just had to have a close -but some really did get let off lightly!- just as the story had to end. So I can forgive Roth’s decisions.

I don’t think I enjoyed this as much as I enjoyed the first two, but I did enjoy it. I understand that some thought the start (rather, first few 100 pages) were boring and slow, but it really does pick up. I will still go on and rave about how much I love this series, because I refuse to let a couple of issues, effect my judgement of a series as a whole.

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

