Review: Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini

Title: Trial By Fire
Author: Josephine Angelini
Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Release Date: 28th August 2014
Pages: 370 (My Proof Copy)
Read it in: 3 Sittings
Source: From Publisher for review

You can buy a copy from Amazon here.

 

Synopsis: Goodreads

Love burns. Worlds collide. Magic reigns.

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying many of the experiences that other teenagers take for granted…which is why she is determined to enjoy her first (and perhaps only) high-school party. But Lily’s life never goes according to plan, and after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly Lily is in a different Salem – one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruellest of all the Crucibles is Lillian . . . Lily’s identical other self in this alternate universe. This new version of her world is terrifyingly sensual, and Lily is soon overwhelmed by new experiences.

Lily realizes that what makes her weak at home is exactly what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. It also puts her life in danger. Thrown into a world she doesn’t understand, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can’t hope to shoulder alone, and a love she never expected.

But how can Lily be the saviour of this world when she is literally her own worst enemy?

My Review:

Firstly, I want to say that the UK cover for Trial by Fire is absolutely gorgeous! Look at the UK and the US covers:

TrialbyFire

US Cover

TrialbyFire

UK Cover

How pretty us the UK cover?! I understand the US cover after having read the book, and it makes a lot of sense – but if I had to pick between covers… I’d be picking up the UK cover! Sorry for that mini ramble. Onto the review!

I was, still am, a huge fan of Angelini’s ‘Starcrossed’ trilogy and I cannot explain how excited I was to find out that Angelini was releasing another book, about witches! I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book, sadly when I received it a lot of stuff happened in my life which meant that I wasn’t able to get to it right away, but as it says above: I read it in three sittings. There was just so much going on in this book that it was hard for me to not be loving every second of it!

So lets get into the book a little more: Lily Proctor is sick. Really sick. Like, everything around her makes her ill. She just appears to be allergic to practically everything. Yet, no doctor has been able to figure out a way to help her. It just seems inevitable that Lily is going to have to stay inside, in a clean room no doubt, away from everyone and everything. So, whilst she still can Lily wants to do something normal teenagers do. She accepts her best friend’s invitation to a party. Now, Lily doesn’t have many friends and her only real friend, Tristian, doesn’t look at her the way she wants him too. Yes he likes her, but no he isn’t faithful to her.

After a party gone horribly wrong, Lily seizes and is  soon recruited by another version of herself: a witch. In this new world Lily learns all about magic and why she is allergic to everything when 3 boys, Rowan, Tristian and Caleb teach her what she needs to know. Angelini writes a book about alternate universes and Lily’s encounters with herself and different versions of people she knows and loves as well as some new faces who apparently mean a lot to this other version of her.

This story was unusual for me to pick up and I am still sure it’s because it was Angelini writing the book that I wanted to read it anyway. I didn’t know much about it, only that there was ‘witchcraft’ and alternate universes. However, I’m so glad I did decide to go for it! I’ve been in a reading slump, and the idea of something different with a little bit of familiar called out to me. I hoped it would bring me out of my reading and blogging slump, and I was not disappointed! Here I am, writing a review for you all of a book I really loved!

The story is well written, and although it was slightly tricky at first to know whose POV we were reading, it soon got a lot easier and I welcomed the changes. It is written in third person, but you get to find out whats going on to multiple different characters, not just Lily. The characters were very well written and thought out well, they have back stories that get explored in this novel, cleverly and addictively. I couldn’t wait to find out about the pasts of Rowan, Tristian and Caleb. They were fun to read about and share this adventure with.

After seriously welcoming a read that had me hooked, I cannot recommend this book enough. It has humour, witchcraft, battles and romance. Ah, it’s just brilliant! Sign me up for Team Rowan! Yes, I love him, but I’m not sure I’d let him dye my hair…

Goodreads quote: ‘Ahhhhh!!! It’s just SO GOOD!!!’ – 13 July 2014

5 out of 5 Stars

One thought on “Review: Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini

Leave a Reply

