Review: Unforgotten by Jessica Brody

Title: Unforgotten
Author: Jessica Brody
Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Release Date: February 27th 2014
Pages: 400
Read it in: 3 Sittings
Source: From Publisher for Revew

You can buy it from Amazon here.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

After a daring escape from the scientists at Diotech who created her, Seraphina believes she is finally safe from the horrors of her past. But new threats await her and her boyfriend, Zen, at every turn as Zen falls prey to a mysterious illness and Sera’s extraordinary abilities make it more and more difficult to stay hidden. Meanwhile, Diotech has developed a dangerous new weapon designed to apprehend her, a weapon that even Sera will be powerless to stop. Her only hope of saving Zen’s life and defeating the company that made her is a secret buried deep within her mind. A secret that Diotech will kill to protect.

My Review:

Ahhhh! So everything seems fine and peachy until Zen comes down with a horrible illness!! Like what the hell? Things for this couple will never be good for long! Haha. But this novel came with a twist, there was a new Sera in town, and his name is Kaelan. Holy bejebus (not a word I know!) was my emotions played with here! I can’t tell if I like this guy or not! STILL!

So i’ll be straight with you all, I’m writing this review about 3 months after I finished the book. I know, terrible right? But I’m still being completely honest when I say that this book was fast paced, and in my opinion better than the first!

Like I said, we have some new characters (Kaelan) but we also have some old faces (Cody! EEE!) but it wasn’t smooth sailing for Sera as she tried to save Zen’s life. Things got complicated. After certain events in Unremembered, Cody’s memory was wiped, leaving him with very little memory of what actually happened to his ‘sister’ Violet. So imagine the confusion for him when a cryptic code leads Sera to him. I’m sure that wasn’t something he expected! Twist? Cody isn’t a little kid anymore…

Obviously, I’d go into more detail if it wasn’t a spoiler, so all I can say there is: if you want to know more about Cody you have to read the book. Duh. I still don’t know what on Earth is going to happen in the final installment of this trilogy. Because Brody annoyingly left us on a cliffhanger that’s not really a cliffhanger but is totally a cliffhanger. I know makes no sense. But trust me, if you read it you’d understand. Or at least, I hope you do. I feel like I have a few answers, but a whole but tone more questions, and I have no idea how this is going to resolve itself. So, I will continue to be excited for the final book.

Overall, I’d give this book 5/5 Stars! Brody, you are continuing to be an amazing and wonderful writer! Keep it up!!

 

Leave a Reply

