Review: Opposition by Jennifer L Armentrout

Title: Opposition
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: August 5th 2014
Pages: 534 (including everything afterwards, like Shadows)
Read it in: 1 Week
Source: Bought it on Amazon. 

You can buy it here.

Synopsis: Goodreads:

Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can’t believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.

My Review:

So it’s taken me about 1 month to write this review, and I think that is down to the fact that I really have no idea what I think about the finale to this wonderful series… I was a bit, let down. I hate myself for saying it, I do. But I just didn’t enjoy Opposition as much as I enjoyed the previous 4 books – but then again a lot of people did enjoy it, so please still read it. Even though I said I was let down, I still liked it and I will explain why!

Let us start with my thoughts of the writing, because this is the easiest part. It was Jennifer Armentrout, the writing was pure genius! Even in parts that I didn’t enjoy so much, I still enjoyed it because it’s impossible to not enjoy the things that Armentrout comes up with! I mean it wasn’t as enjoyable as the second half of the book onwards, but still! Like I said, even the parts of the story that I didn’t like, I still enjoyed.

I want to make that clear, it was parts of the actually story that I didn’t enjoy. The characters were still the same characters I love, with the exception of one (at the start) and my overall feelings towards this series have not changed. Opposition is very addicting, once you get past a certain point (for me anyway), and I feel like this was thee same throughout all the books! It was a very easily addicting series, keeping you on the edge throughout it all – whether that’s because you’re in love with Daemon (who isn’t?), angry with Katy (I know I was partially!), enjoying the banter between the sibilings, or the fights between Lux and Arum. The series doesn’t lose what makes it so perfect and unique.

This is the alien story line. Something refreshing in a book-world of vampires, werewolves and romance novels. Here we have aliens! Granted not the green kind, but still aliens! How unusual?! And trust me when I say if you have been enjoying the alien aspect of the Lux series, just wait for it to get flipped on its head in Opposition! Because it will, haha.

I am sad to see this series end, but the ending really suited the book and everything that had happened. Granted there were a few casualties along the way, but the majority of people who deserved to be in the end of Opposition, made it. And I’m okay with that. Apart from a few early problems with Opposition, I really did like this book, and I do think it was worth the read. I just perhaps won’t be looking forward to re-reading it as much as I’m happy to re-read Obsidian – Origin over and over again, haha.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

