Review: The Return by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Return (Titan #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Release Date: February 16th 2015
Pages: 368
Read it in: 3 Days

 

You can buy it through amazon (UK) here.


Synopsis: Provided by Goodreads:

The Fates are cackling their bony asses off…

It’s been a year since Seth made the deal with the gods that pledged his life to them. And so far, the jobs they’ve given him have been violent and bloody–which is kind of all right with him. But now Apollo has something else in mind for Seth. He’s got to play protector while keeping his hands and fingers off, and for someone who really has a problem with restraint, this new assignment might be the most challenging yet.

Josie has no idea what this crazy hot guy’s deal might be, but it’s a good bet that his arrival means the new life she started after leaving home is about to be thrown into an Olympian-sized blender turned up to puree. Either Josie is going insane or a nightmare straight out of ancient myth is gunning for her.

But it might be the unlikely attraction simmering between her and the golden-eyed, secret-keeping Seth that may prove to be the most dangerous thing of all.

Because history has once again been flipped to repeat.


My Review:

So I liked Seth’s character in The Covenant Series but I didn’t find him swoon worthy. That is, until The Return came along. Now when I think of Seth I can only think of hot and steamy Seth with Josie. It’s just crazy! This whole book provided me with what I had wanted before, just didn’t know I wanted. I wanted some thing good for Seth, of course following the conclusion of The Covenant Series I didn’t see that being an easy thing, but Armentrout gave it to him! Of course he worked his arse off for a whole year being a slave to the Gods, doing whatever they asked whenever they asked as part of his deal, but still! She gave him something good, and oh my lord it isn’t over! This is a SERIES! Meaning there is more steamy Seth on the way! Woohoo!

Anyway, swoon worthy Seth isn’t the only good thing about this book. Josie was a pretty epic bad-ass female character. I mean she didn’t just instantly agree with everything she was being told, she stuck to her guns when she wanted to see her family and when she did eventually believe everything she demanded to be trained! Boom! Insta-bad-ass. She’s completely new to this world, compared to Alex who is a bad-ass from the start as she knows all about the Gods and Daimons and what-not. It was great to have to kick-ass character who were not the same.

Alongside these two, we also get some familiar faces which was wonderful! Apollo is back! And as hilarious and annoying as ever. I adore this character! He was one of my favourites in The Covenant Series and he’s continued to be one of my favourites in the spin-off. I don’t know whether I expected to see him in this spin-off or not, but I’m really glad we do. 

Another familiar set are the faces of Luke and Deacon. I love these boys, their relationship is just perfect. They have the perfect amount of emotion, bad ass, annoyingness and snarkyness (I know, they’re not words but oh well!) thrown into them. They’re just brilliant, and I really hope they are a regular feature in this spin-off series. 

Overall I just loved this story, it was different and yet the same. I just can’t explain how happy I am to have this series in my life following the end of both The Lux Series and The Covenant Series. I do have to stress that this is a NA (New Adult) Series as apposed to YA like the others. Trust me, you’ll be grateful it is when you get to the steamy scenes, but it is important to say there are steamy scenes, so perhaps if you’re under 15/16 don’t read it. Or at least know that you have been warned about it. 

5/5 Stars

One thought on “Review: The Return by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

