Review: Say Her Name by James Dawson

sayTitle: Say Her Name
Author: James Dawson
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Release Date: June 5th 2014
Pages: 287
Originally Read in: May
Read it in: 1 Day
Source: Treat to myself, from Waterstones

Synopsis: Goodreads

Roberta ‘Bobbie’ Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts. A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of ‘Bloody Mary’: say her name five times in front of a candlelit mirror, and she shall appear… But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it?

Next morning, Bobbie finds a message on her bathroom mirror… five days… but what does it mean? And who left it there? Things get increasingly weird and more terrifying for Bobbie and Naya, until it becomes all too clear that Bloody Mary was indeed called from the afterlife that night, and she is definitely not a friendly ghost. Bobbie, Naya and Caine are now in a race against time before their five days are up and Mary comes for them, as she has come for countless others before…

My Review:

So by page 57 I was a little bored of this book (so it already lost half a star), mostly because I wanted some Bloody Mary action and I didn’t have any yet! I believe, all we’d had by this point was a nosebleed. Then I kid you not, just pages after everything kicked off! And this story developed into a Bloody Mary twist that I had personally never read before! And I enjoyed it!

I was slightly let down by a few of the characters, nothing too serious but enough to drop the book down half a star. Some of the relationships just seemed too perfect to me, and my reaction was sort of ‘oh, okay’ as opposed to ‘wow! it’s so clever!’. I don’t like it, although I understand why it’s done, when some of the relationships are too perfect or are there simply because the story needs them to be there. It just ruins the story a little for me.

The creep factor of this novel was on point. There was one particular scene that sticks in my mind of being terrifying and I think will always stick in my mind as being terrifying. I have always been both terrified and intrigued by Bloody Mary so I just knew that if this novel didn’t scare me, then it was a dud. Luckily that wasn’t the case. I absolutely think this book was scary enough to be a Bloody Mary novel. Good job, Dawson!

Lets talk about the main two characters, aside from Bloody Mary, they are: Bobbie and Caine. Ah, the relationship between these two was beautiful. I loved the communication, the way they worked together, feared together, and survived (ish) together. Just all round these two were great. They were clever in figuring out what to do, or so they thought, and I was on my edge throughout the whole 5 day countdown. It was just so clever.

I stupidly read this at night, and so royally spooked myself out. But I don’t regret it, not one bit. Overall it was a bloody good read (excuse the pun). If you don’t mind horror, give it a go! Because this one absolutely gets into your head!

Overall,

4Stars

I enjoyed it, you probably would too!

Leave a Reply

