Top Ten Tuesday (#23)

Top Ten Tuesday

 

Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this week’s topic is: Top Ten Fairytale Retelling I’ve Read/Want To Read

Here I’m doing it slightly differently, I’m going to do 5 fairytale retellings I have read and 5 I want to read!

Top five retellings I have read: So I haven’t read many, but the few that I have read, I did actually enjoy!

1. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – I recently read this for the Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon and I absolutely love it. I mean it’s not really a retelling, but rather the story with a twist. I just love the twist.

2. Beastly by Alex Finn – I read this a few years ago, but I really liked the retelling. I thought it was clever.

3. The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter – Not sure if this counts? But I love her retellings!

Then it occurred to me that actually I’ve read more fairy tales than retellings… and I’ve watched more retellings than I have read them, ha! Or at least I couldn’t think of anymore!

Top five retellings I want to read:

1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – So many people love this series and I really need to get my hands on this series! It’s just so good!

2. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge – This is still sat on my shelf, a Beauty and the Beast retelling… ARGH!  just need to read this.

3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas – I’m not 100% sure if this is actually a retelling, but a friend told me it was a Beauty and the Beast retelling! So I’m all for it!

4. A Kiss in Time by Alex Finn – I have had this on my shelf for a  very long time but I’ve just not got round to reading it!

5. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce – This series just calls to me! I’ve just never gotten round to purchasing it!

What are your top ten this week? Leave a link below!!

Leave a Reply

