Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

sayTitle: City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: July 2nd 2007
Pages: 506
Read it in: 3 Days
Source: A treat to myself from The Works

Synopsis: Goodreads

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

My Review:

I really wanted to love this book. I really did. So many other people have loved this series, and since I really like The Infernal Devices Series, I wanted to love it. But for me it was just so slow. I don’t believe I enjoyed much prior to Chapter 12, Dead Man’s Party.That’s a good 200 pages that were just, in my personal opinion, boring. I got to the introduction of Magnus Bane and I genuinely had hope, I really thought the book was going to pick up and be awesome from that point onwards. I was sadly disappointed. It did pick up again around page 400 and following that it was a good read.

Lets rewind a little bit and let’s talk story and characters. First of all, what name is Clary? How do you pronounce that? It sounds weird no matter how I say it. But she’s a great character. I love that she was oblivious to Simon, even after Jace practically told her that Simon liked her. I love that throughout the whole book she was driven and consumed by her need to find and save her mum. This was a great personality trait for Clary.

I liked the story, the introduction of the Shadowhunters Jace, Alec and Isabelle, and the back story with Valentine and the Circle. That being said, I got so bored with the world building, that I did find myself skipping paragraphs – and it still took me 3 days to read this book! I am disappointed with this opening to the series, but given the ending, I do have faith that the next book should be good – especially all the world building is out of the way.

 

Overall,

I was severely let down by this book, but I’ll be reading the next in the series before I decide whether to give up on the series or not.

 

3.5 stars

Leave a Reply

