Review: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

sayTitle: The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Triology #1)
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Release Date: July 3rd 2014
Pages: 359
Read it in: 3 Days
Source: From the publisher, for review

Synopsis: Goodreads

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love.

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction.

Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

My Review:

First of all I’d like to apologise, I received this book in 2014, rather early 2014 but due to life at the time I never got round to reviewing it. Finally, however, the time has come!

I wanted to like this book. One of my favourite book tubers recently read and loved this book and a lot of the books she likes, I also like. But this book just did not do it for me. I read it cover to cover and that’s why it received a 2 star rating as opposed to a 1 star, but honestly this book just did not have a lot for me to enjoy.

When we first met Kestrel, I did not like her. I thought she was going to bore me (side note until the last 70 or so pages, she did!) and I was not keen on reading her story. Then we meet Arin and I thought he was arrogant! And quite simply, he was an arse. How can I enjoy a book when I don’t even like the main characters?

Who and what did I like though? Jess and Ronan. I loved these siblings, I thought their friendship with Kestrel was beautiful, they were lovely characters and perhaps the book should have been about them, maybe I’d have enjoyed it more.

Overall,

I can’t really say much about the book because I didn’t enjoy it… Although the writing was nice and easy to read, the story just lacked and the characters were not brilliant.

2Stars

 

Leave a Reply

