Review: Trouble by Non Pratt

Title: Trouble 
Author: Non Pratt
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: March 6th 2014
Pages: 384
Read it in: DNF’d on page 216
Source: Borrowed from Nina

Synopsis: Goodreads

In this dazzling debut novel, a pregnant teen learns the meaning of friendship—from the boy who pretends to be her baby’s father.

When the entire high school finds out that Hannah Shepard is pregnant via her ex-best friend, she has a full-on meltdown in her backyard. The one witness (besides the rest of the world): Aaron Tyler, a transfer student and the only boy who doesn’t seem to want to get into Hannah’s pants. Confused and scared, Hannah needs someone to be on her side. Wishing to make up for his own past mistakes, Aaron does the unthinkable and offers to pretend to be the father of Hannah’s unborn baby. Even more unbelievable, Hannah hears herself saying “yes.”

Told in alternating perspectives between Hannah and Aaron, Trouble is the story of two teenagers helping each other to move forward in the wake of tragedy and devastating choices. As you read about their year of loss, regret, and hope, you’ll remember your first, real best friend—and how they were like a first love.

My Review:

 

Where to begin…

It’s clear I did not enjoy this book, I marked it as a DNF (did not finish) book which I really try not to do. I try to finish a book even if i’m not enjoying it. But Trouble crossed a line for me, and as soon as that line was crossed I couldn’t carry on reading it.

So lets talk about what I did enjoy, because thats only fair. Non’s writing. I had two very clear voices in my  head for two different characters, her writing was great. I knew who was talking and it was very easy to follow. I applaud that.

I liked the character of Aaron, a lot. He was sweet, and although I didn’t finish the book and so I don’t know what his backstory is (it hadn’t been fully revealed when I gave up), I still liked his character. Although, what teenage boy would agree to pretend to be the dad of a baby to a girl he just met? Not very realistic in my opinion..

I didn’t like Hannah at all. The back of the book described her as smart?! I failed to see what about Hannah was smart. I liked how she was developing (albeit slowly) before I gave up, so there is a plus side. I do like that she chose to keep the baby, but her families reaction was just not what I was expecting.

Overall,

I disliked more in this book than I enjoyed. In fact, I only enjoyed a few moments. I really did not enjoy the majority of this story. And then it crossed a line, and I put it down! Won’t be recommending this to anyone.

Leave a Reply

