Showcase Sunday (#51)

Showcase Sunday
Showcase Sunday is the weekly meme hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea. If you’d like to join see HERE for more details.
  

The idea is that any books I got myself, was gifted, received for review all go in this post so you can see what it is that I got! Each book shown will also have a book synopsis and a clearer picture of it’s cover. 

Welcome back! This part of the haul are the books that were available on the table to pick up[except for two], and these are already out! So enjoy!

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender – Release Date: March 27th 2014 – This was given to everyone who attended the event. I know nothing about this book, when I originally saw the cover, I thought they’d redesigned a different book, and so got excited to be receiving that book [Magonia]. So yes, I know nothing about the book that it actually turned out to be!

Magical realism, lyrical prose, and the pain and passion of human love haunt this hypnotic generational saga.

Foolish love appears to be the Roux family birthright, an ominous forecast for its most recent progeny, Ava Lavender. Ava—in all other ways a normal girl—is born with the wings of a bird.

In a quest to understand her peculiar disposition and a growing desire to fit in with her peers, sixteen-year old Ava ventures into the wider world, ill-prepared for what she might discover and naïve to the twisted motives of others. Others like the pious Nathaniel Sorrows, who mistakes Ava for an angel and whose obsession with her grows until the night of the Summer Solstice celebration.

That night, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air, and Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo.

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda  – Release Date: May 10th 2012 – This book has been on my ‘to buy’ shelf since it came out. I had it pre-ordered, but then decided I couldn’t afford it and so cancelled my pre-order. Since then it has sat in my Amazon Wishlist wanting to be on my bookcase… And as soon as I walked up to the table, this was the first thing I spotted, and so it was one of the books I picked up from our original ‘two books’ grab.

Gene is different from everyone else around him.  He can’t run with lightning speed, sunlight doesn’t hurt him and he doesn’t have an unquenchable lust for blood.  Gene is a human, and he knows the rules.  Keep the truth a secret.  It’s the only way to stay alive in a world of night—a world where humans are considered a delicacy and hunted for their blood.

When he’s chosen for a once in a lifetime opportunity to hunt the last remaining humans, Gene’s carefully constructed life begins to crumble around him.  He’s thrust into the path of a girl who makes him feel things he never thought possible—and into a ruthless pack of hunters whose suspicions about his true nature are growing. Now that Gene has finally found something worth fighting for, his need to survive is stronger than ever—but is it worth the cost of his humanity?

Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout   – [This editions] Release Date: May 8th 2012 – It’s no secret that I love this book. I have the e-book and the bind up paperback. So, when we were given the chance to go back up and take what was left, this was one I had to grab. Given they don’t publish these anymore, I was surprised to see the amount of them that was on the table! But yes, excitement was crazy for this book.

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown   – Release Date: January 28th 2014 – Why did I pick this book up? I feared I was taking too much time at the table, and had to pick my second book [from the original ‘two’]. I had heard of this series, and almost got this book a couple of times when visiting waterstones, but for some reason always put it back down. So I was happy to pick this up!

The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity’s last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie. That Mars has been habitable – and inhabited – for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.

Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside. But the command school is a battlefield – and Darrow isn’t the only student with an agenda.

Now we move into the books that I didn’t pick for myself, but as I was stood at the table, got told by various different people to take these two books! [Similar thing happened to my partner so he ended up with a whole trilogy more than he had planned!]

timebombTimebomb by Scott K. Andrews  – [This editions] Release Date: June 18th 2015 – This book was recommended by Dani, one of the lovely ladies who was helping run the event, and fellow book blogger at Pen to Paper. She read and loved the book so recommended it to me, and of course when a book is recommended, I just have to have it..

New York City, 2141: Yojana Patel throws herself off a skyscraper, but never hits the ground.

Cornwall, 1640: gentle young Dora Predennick, newly come to Sweetclover Hall to work, discovers a badly-burnt woman at the bottom of a flight of stairs. When she reaches out to comfort the dying woman, she’s flung through time.

On a rainy night in present-day Cornwall: seventeen-year-old Kaz Cecka sneaks into the long-abandoned Sweetclover Hall, in search of a dry place to sleep. Instead he finds a frightened housemaid who believes Charles I is king and an angry girl who claims to come from the future.

Thrust into the centre of a war that spans millennia, Dora, Kaz and Jana must learn to harness powers they barely understand to escape not only villainous Lord Sweetclover but the forces of a fanatical army . . . all the while staying one step ahead of a mysterious woman known only as Quil.

daughtersuntodevilsDaughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics  – Expected Release Date: September 29th 2015 [As this is a finished copy of the book, I was not expecting this to not already be out! should have been in the other group! Sorry!] – Right then, this book was recommended to me because I’m looking for some horror / scarier books to read in the month of October, by one of the lovely ladies Michelle [Chelly] on the panel, she is also a book blogger at Tales of Yesterday and she was absolutely lovely!

When sixteen-year-old Amanda Verner’s family decides to move from their small mountain cabin to the vast prairie, she hopes it is her chance for a fresh start. She can leave behind the memory of the past winter; of her sickly Ma giving birth to a baby sister who cries endlessly; of the terrifying visions she saw as her sanity began to slip, the victim of cabin fever; and most of all, the memories of the boy she has been secretly meeting with as a distraction from her pain. The boy whose baby she now carries.

When the Verners arrive at their new home, a large cabin abandoned by its previous owners, they discover the inside covered in blood. And as the days pass, it is obvious to Amanda that something isn’t right on the prairie. She’s heard stories of lands being tainted by evil, of men losing their minds and killing their families, and there is something strange about the doctor and his son who live in the woods on the edge of the prairie. But with the guilt and shame of her sins weighing on her, Amanda can’t be sure if the true evil lies in the land, or deep within her soul.

This book was my boyfriends choosing. He knows how much I love this book, and love this cover and can never convince myself to buy it because I already have a First Edition Hardback… So he put it in my bag, bless him xD

wgwgWill Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan [the cover matches this writing!]  – [This editions] Release Date: May 10th 2012 – As said, this one appeared in my bag, because my boyfriend was clearly thinking about how happy it would make me! I love this book. My other copy sits on my favourites shelf, which hasn’t changed in a month or so, and will always be one of my favourites! And I just love this cover so much!

Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and lives intertwine.

It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chicago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical.

This book was my boyfriends only purchase of the night! And it is signed! Woo!

nexttogetherThe Next Together by Lauren James  – Release Date: September 3rd2015 – Lauren James was the guest author and on the panel at the event, and so I had to get a copy of her book! Marketed as a Re-imagined Romance, and praised by another member of the panel, I am intrigued about what is held within these pages!

How many times can you lose the person you love?

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time, their presence changes history for the better, and each time, they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039 they find themselves sacrificing their lives to save the world. But why do they keep coming back? What else must they achieve before they can be left to live and love in peace?

Maybe the next together will be different…

Leave a Reply

