Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon

24hourWhat is Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon? For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs, Twitters, Tumblrs, Goodreads and MORE about our reading, and visit other readers’ homes online. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

I only found out about this read-a-thon (in typical Tyler fashion) a few days before it starts, and sadly I was arranging to go home and visit my dad who is very unwell right now, at the same time as trying to plan this read-a-thon. But I’m hoping that having some books to take my mind of the situation if necessary will be exactly what I need.

So as it says above, the idea is for 24 hours you read, post to your blog/twitter where ever you’re based, about reading! There are also mini-challenges to keep yourself entertained. Now for me as I’m in England, the event starts at 1pm on Saturday 17th and goes straight through to Sunday 18th, finishing at 12:55pm. But it differs depending on where you start, though in theory everyone starts at the same time! There is a link at the end for you to check your start time!

I do not plan on staying awake for these 24 hours, but I do plan (alongside visiting my dad and other things) reading a few books, and certainly where possible taking part in mini challenges. So on Saturday 17th [through to the Sunday], you will see plenty of  posts from me! Hopefully!

I will of course include some links at the end of this post so you can check it out if you’re interested! But onto the books I plan on reading:

The LightThat Gets Lost by Natasha Carthew [that’s right I found it! Just in time too!]
Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics [although this wasn’t in the same place as The Light That Gets Lost, I did find it! Hell yeah!]
And finally:  Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick.

I will also have 172 Hours on the Moon with me [yes the one that is in terrible condition] but I doubt I’ll get through the first three (unless I finish The Light That Gets Lost before it starts, in which case it’s my back up.

I have three books [..four] because all of them are very short books, and if I’m left to my own devices I know I can read them all easily [as long as they’re good I suppose] and still partake in the min-challenges! So this is my plan!

Are you taking part?? Let me know down below!

Important links:
Blog Site ~ Sign Ups ~ FAQs ~ Start times

Leave a Reply

