Review: Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Audiobook

Title: Wicked
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Narrated by: Amy Landon
Publisher of Audiobook: Tantor Audio
Release Date: December 8th 2014
Length: 11 Hours 51 Minutes
Listened to in November 2015

Synopsis: Goodreads

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.

My Review:

I’m rather surprised myself that I’m here reviewing another audiobook, but none the less, here I am! I haven’t been able to be kept interested by books since losing my Dad in October, but it was getting to me that I wasn’t reading. Then I remembered one of the last books I got on audible was Wicked, so I decided to give it a try… I think it was exactly what I needed.

Warning, this book is a NEW ADULT book, there are explicit sex scenes (awkward to listen to on a bus to work!!), so if you’re under the age of 16 you perhaps want to avoid reading this one, wait just a little longer. It’ll be worth the wait.


The Book:

I’m grateful to this book for, during a time when I needed it most, giving me a wonderful world to get lost in. The world of the Fae, The Order and The Elite seemed to have been just what I needed. This book goes to show once again how clever Armentrout is. I have read, I believe, one other book about Fae and I cannot say I was a fan. I think that’s why I put off reading Wicked for a while, I just assumed that it was the creatures themselves I wasn’t getting on with.

This clearly turned out to not be the case, the Fae in this book were creepy and interesting and well written. Although they weren’t a huge part of the story, as in, it wasn’t told from their point of view. Their involvement of the story was always placed at the right time with the right atmosphere to make them, as I said, creepy.

The Order and The Elite… I can’t help but wish there was more Elite members… Perhaps with the reveal at the end of the book there will be more Elite in the sequel, but for now the story focussed on the Order and their attempts to stop the Fae finding the gateways to their realm (therefore allowing them to take humans into their world and feed on them) and killing the Fae. They take patrolling New Orleans (and else where, but it’s set in New Orleans) hunting the Fae and killing them, in turns in shifts. And although I had a few issues with a few characters *cough* Val and David *cough* I liked most of them. So lets talk about the ones I liked and didn’t like before moving onto the Elite…

Ivy, what a wonderful female character. Yes swept up in lust, sexual drive and love… But she was bad-ass as well. She kicked some serious Fae butt, and despite everything she deals with during this novel, until the very last moment, she keeps her composure pretty well, and believe me she has some things that she would be well within her rights to crumble about.

Val… I liked this character when we first met her… But very quickly I decided I didn’t like her… I kept coming up with all sorts of reasons as to why I didn’t like her, none of which turned out to be the case, but I couldn’t shake this feeling I had towards Val… I wanted to like her, as I thought she was funny and a great addition to any tense scene… But I just couldn’t, and didn’t.

David… I realise David being the big gun and all, was moody because he wanted to see everyone alive at the end of the day, but he was just too moody for me. I just couldn’t like him, until the moment where he told Ivy to make sure she came back down those stairs at the end of everything… Then I suppose I liked him…

The Elite… So we only meet one member of the Elite, and that’s Mr gorgeous, Ren. And woo! He is definitely something! I loved how he was both manly and caring, both sexy and sweet. He was a perfect all-rounder. Acted how I would expect a guy to have acted in many of the situations he found himself in, and was lovely with Ivy. They’re cute together, I approve. I really liked their relationship, neither of them just became idiots over each other, it seemed like a genuine thing where they really had to work at it, to make it work for each other. Well written and convincing.

Of course I have to mention another man, Tink. This character just… Well changed my mood on so many occasions, I will be forever grateful for this character.


The Reading:

 

I, at first, didn’t think I’d like Amy, but she quickly grew on me. I thought that she was able to do both male and female voices pretty well, I loved the voice she gave to Val, as well as Tink. They were wonderful. A few of her voices were off for me, for some of the Fae especially, but it didn’t really take much away from the story because Jennifer’s writing is just wonderful and I love it! I think I probably expected a lot from this narrator after loving Jim Dale from The Night Circus and Wil Wheaton from Ready Player One, but she did do a good job and I’m hoping she’ll narrate the sequel, whenever that is released.


Overall:

I am very happy with Wicked. I think it was an excellent story, it was written and narrated well. It’s another success story for the Young Adult Queen, Jennifer L. Armentrout.

4.5stars

“If you tell me to leave, I’ll turn and walk away. I swear that, Ivy, but I had to try one more time. I’m not going to possibly go to my grave without trying. Please. Don’t let me go.”

One thought on “Review: Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Audiobook

Leave a Reply

