Showcase Sunday (#56)

Showcase Sunday
Showcase Sunday is the weekly meme hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea. If you’d like to join see HERE for more details.
  

The idea is that any books I got myself, was gifted, received for review all go in this post so you can see what it is that I got! Each book shown will also have a book synopsis and a clearer picture of it’s cover. 

Aha! More Christmas money spending! My last of my Christmas money came in and so I of course spent it on book… And a meal with my best friend… So here are the books I got!

showcasesunday56

Fairest by Marissa Meyer – As I am absolutely loving The Lunar Chronicles I had to go out and get this novella! I am looking forward to reading more about Levana’s story, even if I don’t like her, ha!

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

Splintered by A.G Howard – I am really into fairy tale retellings, as most know because I did my dissertation on them, so when I saw this book in Foyles, I absolutely had to pick it up! It was raved about a little while ago so I was excited to get it!

Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan  – I have wanted to read a book of Rick Riordan book for so long! And this series is about Norse Gods so of course I decided to pick it up! I’ll also be picking up another Riordan book later this year which is about Greek Mythology! So I’m so excited about his books!!

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. His uncle tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – there has been so much hyper around this book and I did have it pre-ordered but had to cancel the pre-order. So I saw it on 50% off in Foyles and so I of course had to pick it up!!

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

Leave a Reply

